The best laid plans……..

image

This arrived in the post last week, earlier than expected so it was a bit of a surprise. Last year I was quite relieved to not get a place in the ballot, this year I was disappointed. Lots of friends have said to go for a charity place, but I do have doubts about my ability to raise £2,000 as well as doing all the training. Hubs definitely doesn’t want me to take a charity place, as he thinks that most of the £2k will end up coming out of our bank account!  We talked it over and I am considering doing Edinburgh instead. There are lots of good reasons to do this;

1 it’s right at the beginning of May half term so I already have the week after booked off as annual leave for recovery!

2 I can still raise money for charity but without the pressure of the target.

3 It’s  a month later than London which will compensate for the slip in my training plan this month.

Its been a busy month both work wise and socially, which along with my little health/anxiety blip has been bad for the running schedule.  As I write this I am in a hotel room in Atlanta whilst my luggage with my running kit is presumed to be in Kansas City. I’m so grateful for the complimentary toiletries!!!!

im supposed to be attending a conference in KC but with 90 minutes allowed to get through immigration and get a connecting flight at Atlanta we missed it by 2 minutes. We went standby for a couple of flights but didn’t get on, so we have re booked for Sunday am and found somewhere to stay. So now I have a day off ( and no kit!) I had planned to run tomorrow pm where there is a gap in the conference so we will see how it goes.

Will I get there in time for the conference?

will I get any running in ( a treadmill is ok with me)

Will I be re-United with my possessions? ( and my iPhone charger)

Will I get home in time to fly back for my holiday with the family?

da dah dah! Cliffhanger!

hopefully a positive update will follow in a couple of days😃

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in charity, London marathon, running, travel, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The best laid plans……..

  1. Cliff-hanger! I hope you get to the conference! I’m concurring with your thoughts on Edinburgh. I can’t imagine doing fund raising with a target AND training for a marathon (amongst all the other things you are doing). And there is always another time to try for the London ballot.

  2. Ohmigoodness! How horrible! Hopefully you are reunited with your belongings soon! Sorry you didn’t get into London, that is indeed disappointing, but good that you have Edinburgh. That gives you 6 months!! You’ll rock it!!

  3. So... says:

    Quite an adventure… Without even looking for one. 🙂 Hope you find yourself, luggage and all back home soon.

  4. oscardiamond says:

    Edinburgh sounds a super alternative for all the reasons you’ve given. We like Edinburgh. I did a half marathon there some while back on the same day as the full marathon. Hope all your known unknowns end positively.

Leave a Reply

