Hey November, roll on with the mellow fruitfulness!

image

Did Keats start one November as we did today? Fog from dawn til dusk?

Never mind, it didn’t stop the rejuvenated marathon plan. November on the fridge, 4.5 mile done, first tick in the box. It was a nice flat run, to the park and back. It was a pleasing run too, kept up a nice steady pace with hardly any walking breaks – a surprise after Thursday’s effort. There were a couple of small hills that were no trouble at all, I found myself half way up to the cemetery before I realised that I was still running!  Normally I see it as a killer hill!

Also today is a big day as I have completed the entry form for my first marathon!😱😱😱

Edinburgh  29th May 2016.  Charity to be determined.

All I have to do is do what I did today for 5 1/2 hours!

It’s all good fun😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in charity, fear, fitness, fun, hills, impulsive decisions, marathon, middle aged women, novice, positive mental attitude, running, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hey November, roll on with the mellow fruitfulness!

  1. Sam says:

    Sure you can manage 5 1/2 hours, and it’s not like Edinburgh is hilly!

    • mawil1 says:

      There’s a 6:30 sweeper so I hope that I can avoid that ignonomy! If I do under 5 hrs I’ll be pretty pleased! But I just want to get round, feel like I’ve done my best and had fun! Flat is good too😊

      • Sam says:

        Well good luck with the training, I am sure you will beat the sweeper! If nothing else it will be great fun and a great achievement!

  2. 50in50marathonquest says:

    Awesome on signing up for the first!! Now, just a matter of finding a training plan and running 4-500 miles to get ready! It’s all good though…think of the race as the reward!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for the advice, I can’t imagine ever doing what you are, marathon after marathon! I’ve downloaded a plan from asics, 688 miles of running!

  3. shazruns says:

    I’ve heard Edinburgh marathon is a good one. Enjoy the training!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    Oooh congrats!!! Can’t wIt to keep up with your training xxx you will ROCK this Julie!!!! Xxxx

  5. oscardiamond says:

    Blue Oyster Cult song, Don’t Fear the Reaper. In your case, just substitute “sweeper.”After you’ve completed the marathon, treat yourself to a good old Edinburgh spurtle.

Leave a Reply

