If you don’t run in rain, you don’t run in Lancashire!

image

Back in the swing this week. 15 miles done, none of them very fast but I’m pleased to have got them done. There were a couple of minor setbacks, I missed a day so I’ve just budged along my schedule along a day. The other was the fact that I had to cut a couple of runs short because I needed to go to the loo! I don’t know if this is a side effect of the ‘no added sugar diet’ which is otherwise going very well.

My biggest challenge has been avoiding coffee with sugar, every clinic or theatre list is punctuated with a cup of coffee with sugar about every 90 minutes,  so 6 or 7 cups per day. I think that I’d weaned myself off the caffeine addiction on holiday, so I just had to deal with the ‘trigger situations’. I’m proud of myself that I have managed a whole week at work and a weekend with no sugar, no cakes or biscuits. I have had fruit and one or two ‘naked ‘ bars, made with dates, nuts and fruit and adopted cheese and biscuits as my snack of choice. One of the other side effects of this dietary change has been weight loss. For the first time in a couple of months I have lost a couple of pounds instead of gaining. Hopefully that will have a positive effect on my running!

the weather here has turned to rain now and the forecast is for rain every day for the next 10 days. I’m only surprised that I got as much dry running as I did over the summer- it’s often rainy all summer too! But I have learned, running in the rain is no big deal. I always get hot when I’m running so no need to wrap up for the rain, just something to keep the wind out and a vest top is fine. As all my runs end at home with a hot shower, no harm done.

image

Dismal weather but at least it’s daylight! More on night running next time😎

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in change, marathon, middle aged women, running, weight loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to If you don’t run in rain, you don’t run in Lancashire!

  1. Congratulations on the NAS and good job on the running! Do you eat bananas before you run?

    • mawil1 says:

      Not specifically. The problem has been in the afternoon/ evening runs where I’ve gone out after a meal. It’s ever been a problem before! Normally it works quite well as I’m ‘fuelled’! I expect that it will settle in a week or two, if not I’ll need to start a food diary!

  2. 50in50marathonquest says:

    Ahh, yes I remember those dreary rainy autumn days growing up in Herts, now get to enjoy the Fall days of the great Pacific Northwest where it is well mostly rainy and dreary every day 🙂 Nice job getting out there though, we’ve got soaked the past 2 weekends but I prefer it over the summer heat…cheers!

    • mawil1 says:

      Lol! If you were planning to move half way around the world wouldn’t you choose somewhere with better weather? Joking apart there’s a lot to be said for our temperate climate, lush green hills and er.. Grass? At least running in ice isn’t much of a problem! Enjoy the cool running!

      • 50in50marathonquest says:

        Well I did live in southern Arizona for quite a while before being drawn back to my roots! Washington is absolutely beautiful though in any season and we love it here!

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    well done! i dont mind running in the grey, drizzle… i dont like ice, scare the hell out of me, but saying that, i DID SLIP on fallen rotting leaves on Saturday, didnt hit the ground but did hurt my back trying to stay upright 😦
    I have just written about ditching sugar… *lol* great minds!!!! i am convinced after this weekend that my weight gain has had a TOTAL negative impact on my fitness/life/health… 8kg! now to lose it!
    So impressed with your trainging, totally inspiring Julie!!!! you are going to SMASH this!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Omg I really feel for you re fall. I hate falling, I don’t like running in ice and I have to admit I’m twitchy around all these wet leaves too – feeble excuse though it is I walk round the corners as I don’t trust my ‘cornering’ on the leaf mould! The sugar free thing has had an amazing effect! I can see now how all that sugary coffee had my blood sugar going up and down, fine one minute craving sugar/ food the next. Without it my apetite is so much easier to control, I don’t feel like I need to wolf down a load of biscuits about 5pm! And amazingly, truly amazing because I have been trying for so long and failing, I am losing weight with no effort at all! Almost 4lb in a month. It is so worth giving it a try! Starting it on holiday without my usual routine and habits was probably a good thing, although totally by accident😀

  4. Wow, well done on the no added sugar thing. So not easy to do!

    • mawil1 says:

      Sugar free- so totally worth the effort! Apetite under control and unbelievably losing weight without having to try. losing some weight is motivating me to continue! All I’ve had to change is to stop drinking coffe, eating chocolate and cake. Everything else is as normal. I’m amazed!

  5. oscardiamond says:

    Well done on the substantial sugar reduction.Have you stopped drinking coffee or stopped adding sugar?

    • mawil1 says:

      I’ve stopped adding sugar to coffee but maintained it by drinking tea instead of coffee. I’ve had a couple of cups of coffee in the week. And I don’t get through as much tea as coffee- not the same ‘thirst’. I have wondered if less caffeine has affected my appetite and cortisol levels what do you think? Do you drink much coffee?

  6. oscardiamond says:

    A cursory glance at the internet shows a correlation between caffeine levels and increased cortisol levels (which are naturally higher in the morning). I drink one filtered coffee a day,very occasionally two and enjoy a Costa strength Americano when I’m out. I enjoy coffee but limit it. I don’t drink instant now. I stopped instant at work because they introduced a cold water machine. There is a culture around hot drinks with sugar at work. It’s a like a little treat smuggled in among the stress and responsibilities undertaken. Your job much more than most! It’s very good that you’ve broken the habit.

Leave a Reply

