More new experiences !!!!!!.

I have to say I’m amazed about how much new stuff there is to do as you get older. Maybe it’s because I’m older I think that I know it all and I don’t expect new experiences. Maybe it’s because getting older brings its own issues and you have to think of something new to cope with them!

So, number 1 new experience this week.

Varifocal contact lenses. In the space of 4 years I have gone from someone who didn’t need glasses, to a nice pair of readers, to millions of pairs of cheap readers scattered everywhere in my life, to varifocals because I need them for work, to varifocals a lot of the time and now, with the final insult ‘ your distance vision is going, you should be wearing glasses to drive’ I have opted for contact lenses.

image

I’ve had them for a week and I can only marvel at the technology that lets me stick a bit of what looks like wet cling film in my eye and I can see. Most of the time. If I can’t see I blink and it usually re focuses. I think I might have been doing quite a lot of blinking on my first trip out to the supermarket, because someone smiled at me. Maybe she thought that I was winking with both eyes? Maybe people smile at me a lot and I haven’t been able to see without my glasses?

Most horrific was being able to see my face clearly in the mirror and realising that it isn’t the case that I look better without makeup as I get older….

Most amazing was being able to see the numbers on my sports watch during the run!!!!!!

Wow! More chance of getting the mileage right then!

My other new experience relates to the first. I can only wear the lenses for 10 hrs per day, so on Tuesday I took a pair to work so that I could put them in at lunchtime and wear them until bedtime, purposefully so that I could wear them for a run in the evening to try them out.

My running schedule slipped a bit last week, missed Friday so ran Sat instead of resting, rested Sunday instead of running, but on Monday instead of running when I should have been resting I rested, so in the end I missed a run. On Tuesday I had to run, otherwise I would have missed two and then I would be on a very slippery slope, sliding away from my marathon goal.

As always I was busy (whinge whinge) got home about 8 did kiddy bedtime, cooking and eating and it was 9pm. Mmm.

9 pm is the TV ‘watershed’ in the UK , after that time it’s adults only TV, However for me 9pm marks the beginning of ‘wind down to bed time’. I don’t start doing any work; experience has shown that if I do I will be up all night – either in a ‘state of flow’ – nice if you can get it but a bit tiring the next day, or unable to sleep because I am either excited about what I was doing or worrying about it. Usually I watch TV in an indiscriminate mind numbing kind of way, read a little bit, bed at 10 asleep by half past.

I’ve never considered going for a run after 9, 8:30 til 9:30 yes, 9 -10 pm no. For goodness sake isn’t that when all the bad people come out? in the dark! And surely I wouldn’t be able to get to sleep afterwards!

But on Tuesday I had my lenses in, especially for the purpose of running and I needed to try them. Throwing caution to the wind I went for a run in the middle of the night!!!!! ( actually it was 9pm which I know is early for night owls) New experience number 2!

image

It was great. I think the fact that it wasn’t raining and there was a balmy wind helped to make it a positive experience. It was cloudy, but despite there being no visible moon the clouds appeared to be lit from below. Once out it didn’t feel late. In some places – accident hotspots I suspect- the council have installed halogen street lighting, so it was like daylight in patches! Did I meet any marauders? No just people out with prams and dogs.

I needed to add a half mile onto my usual route, so I’d picked out some streets on the map. Thanks to my contact lenses I was able to read the street names and didn’t get lost! I slept fine and was so pleased with it that I did the same on Wednesday.

Thursday was a rest day, and Friday I got caught up in family stuff so I didn’t realise the time until well after 9 so I missed my run, by accident. Oops. Back to where I was last week.

Ran today and planning long run tomorrow, so 13.5 miles so far and 20 when I do my 6.5 tomorrow😀

Far better to be running than watching TV!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in change, eyesight!, fear, habits, marathon, middle aged women, running, time management, training plan, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More new experiences !!!!!!.

  1. Isn’t nice being able to see again?!! One day I, too, shall see again, lol! Good job at getting out there in the middle of the night and getting it done!! 😉 I hate to do anything or go anywhere in the dark, but I might just have to change my way of thinking. 😀

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, it’s great being able to see the dashboard on my car! Cooking – not having to look for glassss to read a recipe or the details on a packet. It’s hard to change the way you think because often you don’t realise that you have a ‘fixed idea’ that needs to be challenged!

  2. So... says:

    I was out for a run with a friend today and we were talking about the same thing! She ran a short 5k for the first time in lenses a couple of days ago and it was good. I wear glasses and leave them at home when I get out but it is a challenge in the dark and I’m mostly running by feel.

  3. Impressed with your dedication to your running schedule. All the best with the contacts, glad that they are working for you. I have prescription running glasses and I LOVE them – cost a lot but they are the best running purchase I’ve ever made, worth every cent. I hadn’t thought of contacts…I might ask about them next time I’m at the optometrist.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank Anie, I’m just trying to stick with it. I think that I’m seeing an improvement with regular running and you can’t get that with just going out at the weekend. I didn’t wear my specs for running and probably won’t be wearing the contacts much – apparently you haven’t to bathe or shower in them so I won’t be putting them in before morning runs! Not unless I want to use 2 pairs in a day which could get expensive! A year of daily lenses will cost the same as my last pair of specs ( which would have been £100 cheaper if I hadn’t had designer frames) but the specs only lasted 10 months as my prescription has changed….I think the contacts would be good for races though, where you need to see where you are, follow directions, check your timing etc

  4. bitzy-ku says:

    Congrats keep up the good work 🙂 lenses are great, it’s wonderfully clear when you wear them, I have the odd problem with dry eyes though. I have tried drops and they do help, it’s nice to get rid of the glasses 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes my optician recommended drops too -I actually think putting them in for a week before I got my lenses helped me to get used to putting something in my eyes! I think that it’s great to have a choice, but best of all is being able to see, whether glasses or contacts! Imagine a word without spectacles, hundreds of people unable to see properly, what would it be like!!!!!

  5. oscardiamond says:

    I envy your success with contacts. I’ve worn specs since I was eight but I fall at the first hurdle with contact lens. My blink reflex is so pronounced I can’t get them in! It was wondrous last year when several strong people forced my eyes to stay open for someone else to place them. I walked around outside for 10 minutes seeing normally without specs since I was a young child. Might have another go although chances of success are low.
    Do you run with a head lamp at night? Lots available to chose from. I like running at night although haven’t done so recently. I also recommend running through the town or city. You don’t run fast but you do get a sense of speed and purpose and being alive compared with the funny people merely walking and going soooo slow. You can develop a nice relaxing weaving style.

    • mawil1 says:

      My best friend at school had really bad eyesight and thick glasses, so I empathise. It’s only as my vision has gone a little that I realise how lucky I was to have perfect eyesight for so long! As a veteran of 1 week I can pass on some top tips! My optician asked me to put some ‘comfort drops’ in my eyes 4 times per day because they were ‘ a bit dry’. I don’t know if they were, but at first I couldn’t even get the drops in because of blikning so I think that helped. 2nd top tip, the lenses like wet more that they like dry, so when putting them in make sure that your eyeball is wet ( put some drops in) and your finger with the lens on is very dry, (put it on the other hand, wipe your finger dry and put the lens back on it. Then it’s just determination and perseverance!
      You can probably see from the satellite picture that it’s quite suburban where we live. However, Blackburn, unlike Cambridge isn’t a city and isn’t exactly thriving either! So not many people to run around and not much to see. Whenever I get to stay away from home though I like to do a bit of running tourism, you get a different view of a place and it’s fun. Rome was my favourite! Hubs got me a headlamp for Christmas last year – I haven’t needed it on the streets, but our road is unlit and I am in danger of tripping over a speed bump! I need to get it out! If it’s a few years since you tried contacts I would give it another go I think the technology has really moved on. Even my hubs is considering another try having seen me – he’s a lifelong specs wearer.

  6. oscardiamond says:

    Thanks for the tips and advice. I may give contacts another go. I’ll try the comfort drops.

  7. shazruns says:

    After 9 pm running that is commendable!
    I have gone the full range with eye wear, blind as a bat with contact lenses or glasses, running in the rain particularly horrible with glasses, to laser surgery- fantastic distance sight in hours to now need reading glasses but only sometime depending on time of day and size of font.
    I wore contact lenses for 15 years, loved them. Love laser result more!

  8. CeeJayKay says:

    Couldn’t live without my lenses!

Leave a Reply

