Has anyone found a week? Because I seem to have lost one!

I’m going to start this week’s blog with a few words I never thought that I would say;

For today’s long run I decided to run to the gym where my husband and son would meet me with my stuff. However it was only 6.5 miles so I decided to do the last 2 miles on the treadmill, especially as it was going dark. my husband wasn’t there as we had overestimated how long it would take me by about 30 minutes, so not wanting to use my dirty trainers  on the treadmill I did it in stocking feet. Surprisingly no one actually stopped me as I think that it’s against the rules!

This turned out to be a very pleasing end to a otherwise  lacklustre week for running. Where did it go? It was so busy I’ve not even had time to read my ‘women’s running ‘ mag I bought last weekend! And you know how much I love to read! Neither did I manage a single run between last Sunday’s long run;image

And this one.

I’ve got to admit I had a bit of a mental block about this 8.5 mile run. It’s an awful long time since I did anything like this distance. I was supposed to do it first time around about the time I went to Kansas City, I was nervous about it then and what with all the travel etc my training plan fell apart. So to do it today after no running for a week, again I was apprehensive. I decided that I had to do it, no matter what, to get over the mental block.

However, I find that my running is changing. Only a few months ago I was struggling to run in the heart rate training zone, zone 1, aerobic. It wasn’t that I was running too fast, it’s just that I was so unfit that to break into a run automatically meant I was in zone 2 or 3. Now finally, after 3 years of running on and off, then getting my act together this summer, steadily plugging away trying to get my 4 runs a week in, I have finally gained the ability to keep plodding along and be in the green zone!!!!! (Some of the time!)

last week’s run, over billinge hill, was so much easier than when I last did it back in May 😄

I feel so much better now that I’ve overcome 8.5 miles. That’s almost 1/3 of a marathon you know!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Has anyone found a week? Because I seem to have lost one!

  1. shazruns says:

    That hill looks horrible so well done, miles on the treadmill with no trainers count as double I believe

  2. 50in50marathonquest says:

    Great job getting that milestone run done! I’ve never used zone training techniques to try to stay at a certain zone…if I had to guess, I would say most of my runs are in zone 3 as my heart rate is on the high side regardless of how much I train.

    • mawil1 says:

      I think as you get fitter you can either run at the same speed and not be breathless, or run faster-I’m guessing that you run faster! I’m hoping to do that a bit in the future too😊

  3. bitzy-ku says:

    Well done great achievement 🙂

  4. So... says:

    It is funny how we get used to distances. Had a 10k this Sunday as per the plan and thought, its just a 10. No big deal.

    • mawil1 says:

      Cool! I wonder if I’ll ever do 10 miles ‘just my usual long run on a Sunday’ lol!!! I still haven’t forgotten wondering if I’d be able to make it round my first ever 5k😌

  5. That is just awesome to hear Julie, Yay for the green zone! It’s amazing what happens when we just keep at it!

Leave a Reply

