Winter solstice.

Only 10 days to the winter solstice. It’s dark at 4:30 pm. I’m like a human canary, the lights go out I want to go to sleep.

image

My last run – dark but a thankful respite from the rain!

It’s that time of year-the run up to Christmas, when life’s finely tuned balance gets knocked out due to social type things. Yes you guessed, I haven’t been running for a whole week. But only a week.  It seems like a major omission now, whereas this time last year I often only managed weekend runs anyway.

I have to admit that it is a bit harder when you need to do 6 or 8 miles, that’s a good 90 minutes of running for me  and it’s harder to find that than just 30 minutes.

So time to get out there, and be grateful that we haven’t suffered in this bad weather. So many people have been flooded out of their homes here in the North West.

I will be grateful too when I’m on holiday and I can lie in bed until the sun comes up and again when that shortest day is past and we are on the road to springtime.

image

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Winter solstice.

  1. shazruns says:

    I normally take December off from running, just a nightmare to fit everything in and not helped by the never ending darkness!

    • mawil1 says:

      There’s a lot of sense in that! However it’s taken me 4 months to build up to the ‘steady base’ of 20 miles per week on which to build my marathon training for the spring. I don’t want to lose what I’ve gained so I’ll keep trying!

  2. That looks like a great road to run on in the dark… well lit and no traffic. I look forward to the time when it’s not so dark in the evening!

    • mawil1 says:

      Can you tell it’s a killer hill at the end of a run? Lol!! The street lamps are new, halogen I think. Certainly it’s much brighter now!

      • Oh my! I can see it now that you pointed it out! It just kind of goes off into the black! But then if you run it in the dark, maybe you can achieve total zen while you’re going up because you can’t see it (feel the hill, be the hill, haha… sounds good anyway)! 😀

  3. pwhent says:

    I hate this time of year. It’s dark early and gets light late and the running season is a long way off. Well done on your determination. To get out there!!!

  4. So... says:

    Virtual training partner! Finally got out this morning for a short run around the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

