Gore mythos tights – a review

My new running tights arrived today, so imagine how thrilled I was to hear heavy rain lashing against the window pane. No seriously! there’s a first time for everything I suppose!

I’d been researching / thinking about getting a pair for a while. On the goreapparel.co.uk site there was a guide to sizing taking into account your height, weight, build, size of favourite jeans etc which said I should be a small. On the sweatshop site it suggested that a UK size 12 would be medium so I went for medium. When I put them on the legs were long ( as all running tights are on me) and they were a snug but comfortable fit. I just hitched them up a bit over my thighs.

They are constructed from a number of panels, all of which appear to be double thickness, but the side panels are different to those on the front and back. From mid ankle down there is a coloured segment, in this case a kind of raspberry pink. They felt thick going on, but with plenty of give and flexibility.

imageFashion wise I wasn’t keen on the pink flashes, for those of you into ‘ colour be beautiful/house of colour’ I’m a ‘Spring’ so it’s not really my kind of colour, doesn’t go with any of my other running clothes and clashes with my shoes! On the plus side they were well cut and there was no camel toe. Mid way through my run I looked down to find that although they were still fitting snugly around my waist they had wrinkled up a bit around my ankles. I looked like a Jane Fonda escapee, in black leggings with pink leg warmers! When I got home I just undid the ankle zip a bit  so that they flared out over the top of my trainers and I thought that looked a bit better!

So how did they work? Fantastic. It was raining heavily and I could see  the water beading on the surface. Inside I was toasty warm and dry. It was just a 3 mile jog so I’m going to wear them again tomorrow for my long run – the weather forecast is rain tomorrow with snow next weekend – now the bad weather gives me something to look forwards to!

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in CLOTHING, fashion, fitness, gore mythos running tights, marathon, middle aged women, novice, running, slow run, time management, training plan, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gore mythos tights – a review

  1. So... says:

    Jane Fonda escapee. 🙂 couldn’t help smiling!

Leave a Reply

