Running ups and downs.

The first week in January is done. On the running front it’s been a funny week. On the one hand I have done well, getting back into the schedule, (17 miles this week) on the other it’s been hard work mentally and physically.

Before Christmas I said that I was going to take a break from sugar free as it would be hard to maintain with all the celebrations. Shazruns warned me to be wary, maybe a couple of days not a couple of weeks. She knew what she was talking about. The 5lb  which had just melted away over a couple of months jumped back on in 2 weeks – I didn’t think it was possible – and shows no sign of just jumping off again!  Now I’m paying the price as the extra weight does make the running harder.

Yesterday I felt the most despondent I have ever felt whilst on a run. Yes it was dark and raining but I just didn’t seem to have the will to put one foot in front of the other. This morning hubs asked me about how the running was going and I told him about how I felt. I know quite a lot of people who have taken up running after me and within a few weeks are running 8 minute miles. Yet despite plugging away for quite some time now and running 3 or 4 times per week, I count myself lucky to manage a 12min per mile pace. Normally I can accept that I’m not good at this but it doesn’t matter because running makes me feel better and anyway I have other gifts to be grateful for, you can’t have everything. But somehow yesterday it got under my skin.

I went on to explain to him that I thought that I might be one of those people whose genetic make up is such that they can’t improve their VO2 max/fitness. He was sceptical so I googled some of the research and articles that have been written about it to show him. He did point out, that despite my disappointment I am actually much better at running than when I started out, when I couldn’t run at all. I had to concede that I had improved when compared to the previous me.

The other thing that came out from reading these articles was that although my fitness may not improve through regular aerobic exercise, my health will. So although my heart will never be able to pump so much blood to my muscles that I can run like the wind, I can still lose weight and have better metabolic control over my blood sugar, preventing diabetes, and lower my cholesterol.

Thus armed with the information that helps me to justify my place in the running world, I put my kit on and went for a run. I did the 10k that includes the massive hill;

image

View from about 3/4 way up

image
Today’s strategy was to try to just keep counting my steps and to do 1000 steps without walking. When I got to the hill, I said that if my heart rate reached 150 I could walk until it came down to 140, so I did the hill in 4 or 5 running segments.

I was caught up by a cyclist who couldn’t cycle much faster than my run so we had a little chat as to whether the hill was worse running or biking. I thought biking, you can’t slow down to walk on a bike, and I’ve only fallen off my legs 2 or 3times when out running, and never because of a hill!

In the end it was quite a good run as on the downhill bit I managed to keep up a steady jog (yes sometimes I even get short of breath running DOWN hill!) and managed an 11:30 mile with an overall pace of 13:07, so 30 seconds per mile better than November. Maybe my husband was right after all ( but he doesn’t read this blog, so don’t tell him. Husbands don’t need to hear that kind of thing, it’s dangerous!)
So to sign off I’d just like to say To all the people in the northern hemisphere, I hope that you are coping with the January blues. Top tip? Fake it til you make it, just keep on with the routine until it all gets better. To those of you on the sunny side of the planet, enjoy it while you can!!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fear, fitness, fun, garmin, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, hills, low intensity, map my run, marathon, middle aged women, Motivation, novice, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, stats geek, time management, training plan, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Running ups and downs.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Inspiring!!! You go J! Loving the ‘fake it till you make it’ mantra 😉 made me smile!!!! I’m going to try this, this week, when I try to get back into it xxx

  2. Shaz says:

    Hey wise words from me, how rare! Funny thing is I don’t remember the warning. Ironic thing is I paid no head to it, ate everything in sight over Christmas and struggling to get off the sugar wagon since 2016. I need to remember I am a finely tuned athlete who does not eat junk. My mantra for this week.

  3. Fake it ’til you make it! I like that!! 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    “Husbands don’t need to hear that kind of thing, it’s dangerous!” Hehehe 🙂 My husband doesn’t read my blog either – unless I ask him to read a specific post.

  5. We are enjoying the sun, thanks Julie. Good on your hubs for pointing out how you are getting better at running. There are always going to be those of us at the back, but that’s ok, I think it’s a cool place to be 🙂 You are doing a wonderful job: consistent, disciplined and committed. That equals a very good runner.

    • mawil1 says:

      Hubs can be very sweet ! I suppose that’s why I married him😊 Someone else posted one of those picture / word things – your bad day might be making someone else’s good one, or something like that. That’s how I think when I’m at the back!

Leave a Reply

