Weekly round up Jan 16 ’16

I’m gathering nutritional smug points today.

Three weekends into ‘dry January’ and not a drop of alcohol since New Year’s Eve ! Back into the swing with sugar free and the cravings have finally subsided, great. I’ve even got into the habit of substituting de caf on a regular basis for my coffee and tea.

No smug points for running.

I started the week determined to get that Tuesday run in. It’s a weak spot in my running schedule meaning that I often end up doing 3 runs instead of 4 because I skip it. So 9pm Tuesday night off I went. Good weather. Only 3 miles, so out and back along the main, lamp lit road into town. Got home, felt great, had a bath, had a drink, went to bed, couldn’t sleep.

I tried meditation. Still awake.

So then I thought about my novel, the one I haven’t written yet. Sometimes I just like to spend a little time in my imagination with my characters, sort of building them. I’ve been doing a little bit of this recently thanks to Elizabeth Gilbert ( of ‘eat, pray, love,’ fame). A few weeks ago I heard her interviewed on the radio about her new book ‘Big Magic’.

image

I was interested when the interviewer asked her about her theory that if you don’t use your creativity then that energy comes out in a negative way. I can understand what she means, if I get bored and frustrated then I start to pick holes in things around me. ( I don’t think that creativity has to be art by the way, being able to think originally in science or management is also creative). So I got the book. To be honest much of it is a bit off the wall for me, but she has a theory that if ‘the muse’ comes to you with a great idea and you don’t use it, it will go to someone else.  Being the gullible and superstitious primitive that I am, I don’t believe it but at the same time I don’t want to neglect my idea any longer.

Hence, When I was still awake at 1:15 am I thought that it was time to get up and do something else. So I started jotting down my ideas on paper. It was about 4am by the time I got to sleep and I get up at 6, so on Wednesday I was tired. Too tired to do my run on Wednesday night.

Thursday was a rest day and is my operating day. When I had the good fortune to finish work early (because someone cancelled) did I dash off to do my run? No, I sorted my emails and went to the shop for food thinking that I would run after food, but instead got talking to hubs then fell asleep on the sofa. Ditto Friday.

I’m not sure about the falling asleep of the sofa thing. I think that I might be adjusting to the lack of stimulants from caffeine and sugar, some might say ‘detoxing’. I’m sure that I will adjust in a few days and be all the better for it.

So I finally got my third run of the week in today ( no fourth😟).

Proper winter has now arrived with ice and snow.

image

Icicles where the water runs off the hill

image

Even the canal was frozen. This swan was struggling to make headway.

Next week, no procrastinating! Run first!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, book reviews, change, Elizabeth gilbert, fear, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, Inspiration, marathon, middle aged women, Motivation, Nutrition, reading, running, time management, training plan, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly round up Jan 16 ’16

  1. oscardiamond says:

    The good lord decreed there would be just 24 hours in the day and in addition to that imposition, we’re programmed to waste time sleeping through up to a third of it. You seem to spend your time much more intelligently than most people so you shouldn’t berate yourself for not achieving everything you set out to do. Running is great but then so is planning your novel and talking to your husband. Sounds like you are winning all round.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks, Steve. I’m lucky to have such a full life and to be able to occupy and entertain myself. I think that I help others a bit too, so many people I know have taken up running since I did, not all down to me but I think that I’m one of the factors that makes people think that they can do it. One day I’ll do something more to ‘give back’.😊

  2. Not being able to sleep sucks but sounds like you put the time to very good use. And I fully understand why all your planned runs didn’t go ahead, not good to run when so tired. The good thing is that there is always next week.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Annie, I think it was that late night run that affected my sleep- usually it isn’t a problem! But I’ve already booked hubs to do the school run next Tuesday morning so that I can get out before work😄

Leave a Reply

