january 16-22 2016

Sunday morning I woke up to this:


There’s a first time for everything and this was my first time running in snow. It was a long run 8.5 miles. I think the cold affected my muscles, making them stiff as I struggled a bit with uncomfortable legs!
Tuesday was 3 miles. As I was leaving the house at 6:30my husband was getting up, looking a bit grumpy and I’m guessing regretting his offer of the previous night to do the school run. It was a good run, marred only by the man I saw coming out of Tesco’s carrying his morning paper ‘You should be careful running at your age ‘ he said. I ask you! how old do you have to look to look too old to be running?

imageFauna Singh 93 year old marathon runner

D o I look older than him? No replies please, my ego is bruised enough for one week! At least I went on to do a good mile in 11:30. Too slow to be average but pretty good for me😊

Wednesday I didn’t make it out so I swapped with Thursday’s rest day.

Thursday I didn’t really feel like it either, but I forced myself out and within 10 minutes I was enjoying it. Whilst I was out there was a whole pack ( about 100 people!) of C25k runners, all in reflective bibs with ‘Blackburn c25k’ written on.  I managed to catch up with them and overtake them during their walk phase. They didn’t catch me up again. It was nice to remeber when I was like that and to see that I have moved on. I was feeling good until about Mile 3 when I needed the loo. Sadly I needed to walk otherwise I would have been incontinent so I walked the last 2 miles. As the night progressed I came to appreciate that this was not a one off and I appear to have a tummy bug.

Hence I am lying in bed early on a Friday morning doing my blog. As luck would have it, someone (else) made an admin error at work and so I have no clinical session at work this morning so I don’t need to be in so early. Lots of paperwork to do though and I’m well enough for that😊

Hopefully this will settle today and I will get my run in this evening in order to complete a full training week! ( no fingers crossed emoticon! Can that be right?)

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to january 16-22 2016

  1. oscardiamond says:

    Some people want to make a little joke and have a bit of interaction, some have unconscious resentment when they see someone healthily active and some people are just foolish twits. He probably ticks all three boxes!
    I’m sure you could get to love the snow. Did you warm up? Are you wearing your Gore wind stoppers? I’ve just had a short run in bitter wind and light driving rain. Not pleasant conditions but I feel better for it.
    Last thought. Did you see the paper he was clutching. Probably the Mail or Express with a headline like New Study Finds Exercise Bad For Heart. Not that I’m judgemental or anyfink. I’m off to my print course now!

    • mawil1 says:

      I thought that maybe he was genuinely concerned, maybe someone close to him had done themselves an injury? Sadly I didn’t wear my winds toppers in the snow- they were still drying on the (indoor) line. I thought that it looked cold but still outside – I was mistaken there was a biting wind! Weather for next week is warm and wet so it will be a while until I get another opportunity to test them in snow. I’m sure they would have kept me warmer!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    B****d!!! I would have told him to take note because when he is fat fifty, unfit, wheezing and too immobile to get his own newspaper your wonderful vision of health and fitness will haunt him !!!
    Stunning snow pics xxx will write more when I’m home from the school run 🙂

  3. Midlife Man says:

    Running while it is actually snowing is a fun experience. The snow is so distracting you can forget you’re running.

  4. I think he meant ‘Adults over age 16 years shouldn’t be running you gorgeous looking 30 something lady AND by the way you look HOT in your running gear’ xxx Running in the snow sounds really tough, good job!

Leave a Reply

