This week’s blog, brought to you by sleepyhead!

last week’s blog ended with a tummy bug cutting my run short. I felt better by Sunday but decided to do my run on the treadmill at the gym just in case. I left it a bit late and got chucked out at closing time after only 5k.

image

Monday was a rest day, just as well as I was tired and went to bed early.

Tuesday I was tired again, tried to go to bed early, but made the mistake of reading all your lovely blogs and didn’t turn the light out until 11pm.

Wednesday I put my kit on, set off down the road, changed my mind after a minute and came back. I decided that it was too late (it was 8:30) and went to bed instead

Thursday I decided no messing, got home from work at 7:30 and went straight to bed, asleep by 8:30.

friday and Saturday both 9pm.

And I have slept really well.

Is this good for me or not? Am I just getting into a lazy habit, or is ‘my body telling me’ that I ‘need’ more sleep? Bearing in mind that our bodies generally ‘tell us’ to eat, rest and conserve energy and I’m not actually a caveman I’m not convinced. However I am willing to concede that going to bed an hour earlier for a while might be better for me than ‘unwinding in front of the TV’ and might enable me to get up earlier to run in the early morning especially when spring kicks in.

Going back to running, will I be well rested, having taken periodicity to the extreme, or will I be like an astronaut returning from space and find that my body has turned to jelly?

I tested it with 10k today (in my lovely wind stopper leggings which kept the rain out). Yes I felt like an astronaut!

Honestly, I can’t say that I was loving it or that it was a great run but I felt better on the home straight!

Here’s to back to the plan🍾!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, balance, blogging, fitness, habits, marathon, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, time management, training plan, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This week’s blog, brought to you by sleepyhead!

  1. 50in50marathonquest says:

    It is really hard to balance everything at times, especially when you have a demanding job that requires you to run at night after work, which is so much harder in the winter when it seems every run is done in the dark, wet, and cold. I will be glad when the winter time running is over!

  2. bitzy-ku says:

    Glad you feel better sometimes we have to take a small break 🙂 xxx

  3. oscardiamond says:

    I think the extra sleep did you a power of good and you went from nothing to 10k today. I think that proves it.

Leave a Reply

