I’ve been thinking.

I know that I haven’t posted for a while, but I didn’t realise that it had been a whole month until I checked just now.

I haven’t been running, blogging and have been generally avoiding social media because I’ve had something on my mind. Nothing major.You know when something bothers you and you just can’t move on until you sort it out? Maybe not, maybe it’s just me but sometimes if I have worries it just saps all my energy. Normally going for a run makes me feel better but I think that the added pressure of the marathon was bothering me too. I’ve been managing to get out at the weekends but not during the week.

image
Today was too nice not to go out. Even urban landscapes look good in the spring sunshine. Just 5 k though. It was strange setting out. For the first few metres it was like my body had forgotten what to do. I did settle into a jog, but more stopping than I’d got used to.

I haven’t solved my problems but I have some ideas. I don’t know what I’m going to do about my marathon at the end of May. Carry on trying, plan for a run walk event if necessary, hope to get round before the cut off.

anyhow I’m pleased to see longer days and brighter mornings. It’s always an improvement. Heavy snow twice in one week has been a surprise though!

Happy running everyone.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, blogging, change, fear, fitness, habits, marathon, middle aged women, Motivation, running. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I’ve been thinking.

  1. lexilife says:

    I feel you on having worries and them draining you like you’re going down the plughole. I actually turn to blogging and social media to distract me of those worries and relax me, either than or exercise. Good to see you getting back into it! x

    http://www.lexilife95.wordpress.com

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    hey funny… missed you, figured you were busy x sorry you have worries… i find that getting our for a bit on my own, out on the trail or on the paths at the Valley Park help…
    The snow has been weird out our way… heavy too, but patchy at the same time…
    I too haven’t been running… *sigh* have hit a bit of slump, about to write about it…
    take care, hope you have a better week…
    Spring is on its way like you say… things will ‘pick up’ (she says blowing a kissey)

  3. pwhent says:

    Hi Julie, I am glad to hear that you are back running. I hope that whatever it is that is concerning you gets resolved. I find running is a great time and place to think things through without any distractions. As for your marathon…..just keep running as often as you can. The most important run is the weekly long run but it doesn’t matter if you walk a bit. Time on your feet is more important than speed. Missing a few runs won’t do any harm. Good luck.

  4. So... says:

    I do hope things sort itself out for you. Perhaps setting just 3 running days a week may help to get back into training mode. Wish you sunny days and happy runs.

  5. oscardiamond says:

    Don’t stress yourself. Walk run it or, horror of horrors, give it a miss and have a go another time. Have you got lots of sponsorship? If so, nobody’s going to not pay up if you’re overtaken by the sweeper.

  6. Nice to see you back, I understand taking a break. I hope you get the worries sorted.

Leave a Reply

