Inspiration.

imageLast night I watched a TV programme about Eddie Izard. He’s a now middle aged (sorry Eddie if you are reading) transvestite comedian who has run 27 marathons in Africa to commemorate nelson mandela’s 27 years in prison and raise (over £1.7m) for sports relief. Sport relief is a charity where sporty types raise money to support amongst other things children in severely disadvantaged environments over the world.

I like Eddie because he’s funny and when I’ve seen him interviewed on TV he seems intelligent and compassionate when he isn’t being funny.

I found watching Eddie’s journey as he ran these marathons inspiring. Why? Because it was obviously hard work and at times he looked fed up and grumpy. It just made me feel more like I could do it ( a single marathon) than I would if I’d been watching a sleek young effortless athlete.

Round about February I seemed to loose my metal focus/drive or whatever and I haven’t run much at all since then. I’ve been on a few walks and ended up gawping at the flood damage from December.

image

image
The second bridge is on the farmers land near our house and after over 100 yrs succumbed to this. The first, over the Ribble, is about 20 ft over the water level in this picture, but judging by the debris in the supports had water flowing over it.

So after watching Eddie I thought that I really should get out. I did. just 5k, slow. Muddy underfoot so trying to avoid my legs sliding in opposite directions! It the bath afterwards I was aware of the sense of ‘post run satisfaction’.  It was nice to remember.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in charity, fear, fitness, habits, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, walking, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Inspiration.

  1. So... says:

    Such beautiful pictures and a little sad too about that old bridge. But bridges will be built again and running always comes back to a runner.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Sonia, I love our countryside and especially the watersides, whether it’s river, canal or seaside! You are right, the bridges can be repaired, nothing lasts forever – not even a running slump!😃

  2. bitzy-ku says:

    It’s good inspiration 🙂 maybe you were ready for a break? We can all put pressures on ourselves but when we’re ready we can pick it up again – if not we find something else x

    • mawil1 says:

      Too true about putting the pressure on. It’s a hard habit to break! But life is about learning😌 How are you?

      • bitzy-ku says:

        I’m well thank you – still pounding the pavements but not quite as much, I think it got a bit much for me so I knew exactly where you were coming from. I think we’ve both done so well considering where we started. I still sometimes feel pressured to run as I have a lot of lovely gear and I don’t want it to go to waste – what are we like? Xxx

      • mawil1 says:

        Running kit! I have 3 drawers full of it! What did I keep in there before? After the initial splurges I have been quite good at not buying more, probably because I keep promising myself that I can buy new when I loose weight and it never happens!

  3. oscardiamond says:

    I agree with you about Eddy Izzard. I think with extroverted showbiz people you tend to think it’s all superficial and a bit of an act so it surprises when it’s clear they have integrity and genuine feelings.
    So Eddy and an improvement in the weather have conspired to motivate you to run again. That can only be good. Are you still putting marathon pressure on yourself?

  4. 27 marathons, good on Eddy! And good on you for getting back out there x

Leave a Reply

