Retrospective

image

Who, when climbing a mountain would never look back to enjoy the view? Can you imagine what it would be like, only looking forwards into the hillside? Rocks , gorse, grass, mud, sheep droppings. What’s to enjoy in that? Enduring all those false summits, all the times when you think you are near the top but you get there to find onlyanother steep climb ahead.

Who goes back and reads their previous blog entry’s? Not me. Not until yesterday. What happened then? Well Annie (unsportywomencanrun.wordpress.com) was reflecting on her beginnings as a runner and her early struggles. Now, she wins races (you so do Annie😃) – but more importantly she loves running. It made me remember my early days, the rapid progress from complete non runner and the enormity of finishing 5 k and thinking that it was a long distance.  Cee Jay Kay (ceejaykayfit.com) told me about another runner doing the slow heart rate training (slowrunnergirl.wordpress.com) so I visited her blog and she visited mine. She commented on an old post and I had to go back and read it to remember it. I was struck by how lighthearted and fun it was compared to more recent entries.

It was like the clouds shifting to give you a glimpse of the sunny valley below.

OK so things have been grim recently but it’s time it was over. I want my sparkle back, and do you know what, I think that I can get it. Time to wipe the slate clean, my slate,everyone elses slate. Forget past injuries, past mistakes, even previous achievements and start here and now with what I have, move onwards, forwards.

For others out there who have lost their mojo, for running or other aspects of their life, I know that you can’t just choose to ‘switch it back on’. But you can choose to make the choices  that make it more possible and you probably know what  they are for you. Sometimes you need to ask for help to enable those choices.

For me, regular sleep, a healthy diet and time for reflection have all been beneficial. I’ve had a lot of support too, for which I am grateful. I suspect that getting back into a gentle exercise regime may have helped too, now I feel like I want to run again. This is a good sign for life in general.

Today I woke up and it was a beautiful day. 24C ! That is roasting in the UK. I went out for a run – which was mainly walking to keep the HR down. I really enjoyed it. I think that taking the pressure off to work harder has really helped, setting my goal as a HR band is something I can achieve each day and review once I have collected enough information🙂

I didn’t take my phone so sorry no pictures but I can tell you what it was like. It was so still and quiet that you might think that we’ve had weeks of heatwave! Maybe after all the weeks of wind rain and hail I’m just missing the noisy weather!

There’s one part of the canal where people’s gardens come right down to the water on the side opposite the tow path. I always think of it as the ‘Blackburn riviera’ and sure enough there were people sitting out having breakfast on the patio or reading their morning paper.

Life in the slow lane certainly has something to be said for it. 😊

Wishing you all happy runs and healthy Mojo’s xx

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, blogging, change, fitness, fun, habits, heartrate, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Stress, time management, walking, weight loss, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Retrospective

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Welcome back J’s MoJo!!!! At times I think we all have to go looking for our wandering Mojo, give it a talking to and haul it back!!! It’s good!
    So pleased you found yours hunny! Onwards and upwards!!! And here is to running deep into our 50’s and celebrating just that!
    *mwah* *mwah*
    Ps love the photo of your ‘boys’! Where is that taken? Looks cold!!!!

  2. pwhent says:

    Lovely post Julie and here’s to a fresh start. But don’t wipe the slate clean of all those great achievements. They are what makes you who you are and they will be great to look back on from time to time.

    • mawil1 says:

      I know what you mean Peter, it’s good to be proud of our achievements but sometimes if we cling onto them it stops us enjoying what we have now, so say you ran a 3:30 marathon when you were 30 but couldn’t enjoy your running at 50 because you wanted to still be doing 3:30 , well it doesn’t do you any good☺️ So that’s what I’m trying to say, enjoy it, appreciate it, look back at it and admire it sometimes but leave it where it belongs! Gosh at this rate I’m going to find myself applying for a job as a new age counsellor in California!😆😆

  3. So... says:

    So very happy for you!

  4. Pingback: The Blogger Recognition Award | sadaptation

  5. Happy for you as well! It’s the hardest to just enjoy and let go of the pressure we put us under. The magic is on the other side so it’s worth it.

  6. You sure sparkle Julie! Sparkling in the slow lane, the best lane to be in – moving and time to smell the roses. Well done! You are keeping on going. And you forgot to say ‘wins handicapped races’. Love your blog, love your story, looking forward to keeping on following you MIss Sparkly Julie x

  7. I think you are reading my mind 🙂 I’ve recently noticed that my older posts seem a lot ‘lighter’ and ‘happier’ compared to now. I’m not even sure why that’s happened but I’ve somehow lost my mojo too. Here’s to getting it back for the both of us!

Leave a Reply

