Looking after my heart with mr maffetone.

image

When I saw this a few thoughts popped through my head.
‘ oh good, if someone collapses in town I’ll be able to resuscitate them’
‘ what a fantastic idea for decommissioned phone boxes’
‘ how very ‘clitheroe’ that some one had the imagination, energy, money and initiative to do that’

Did you observe that there is no litter between the phone box and adjacent wall, only cherry blossom? I suspect that someone sweeps it out and replaces it with fresh blossom every day, because this is the ribble valley.

Today I checked my resting heart rate when I woke up. It was 56 and I was pleased. Last time it was that low was when I did my half marathon, recently it’s been up at 68, which is still below average (72) but I like to think that my heart is athletic, even if the rest of me hasn’t caught up yet.

I did an hour of brisk walking, mainly on hills, little bit of jogging, average heart rate 128.

Would you know what to do if someone collapsed on the street? Or how to use a defibrillator? It’s easier (and more idiot proof) than you think ! If you would like to know more, check out this free app:

image

Please have a look – you might save the life of a middle aged lady jogger one day!๐Ÿ˜„

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Looking after my heart with mr maffetone.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ you are funny!

  2. Great idea to blog this.

  3. What a brilliant idea to put that there!

  4. What a great idea! I think we have an app of how to locate the nearest device. I’ve had a play with them at First Aid Training. The ones I’ve used have a recording that tell you what to do!

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes that’s right, and they don’t shock unless the ecg has the appropriate kind of abnormality. The app I included is like a video tutorial with what would you do next options, so about how to do cpr, calling for help, finding the definition etc. It tells you what’s in the box etc so it probably covers what was on your first aid course.

  5. First: cool booth! Haven’t seen this in Ireland … want this on my beach, but in the summer there are nice looking life guards … wouldn’t want them switched out.

    Second: 128!!!!!!???!!!! This is amazing. If I could slow down that much I bet I would be double as fast already …

    • mawil1 says:

      Ho Ho well there lies the rub. I’m 49, and I’ve taken off another 5 because I haven’t been running regularly for a while, so 180 minus 54 is 126 as my target maximum! So sometimes I can hit that just walking and unfortunately it can go up to 140+ going up hill. However I’m determined to do it ‘by the book’ so if a brisk walk gets the HR up a brisk walk it is, but if I can manage a jog on the flat I jog. I’m putting complete and utter faith in this for 3 months to see what happens, and as it doesn’t hurt its not a problem๐Ÿ˜ƒIf I keep going for 3 months I think I can add my 5 back on and go to 130, so that should be running by then!

      • That’s what I mean! I can’t yet say I have fully tested it as I went above my ‘prescribed’ heartrate within the x months! If I just could do it for 3 months … without exception … think of all the cool data I could collect lol … but I am also ok with continuously trying … as I am still running, enjoy it and it doesn’t hurt!

      • mawil1 says:

        Well I’ll let you know. I confess that I was running at about 12 to 14 mins per mile with a HR between 135 to 150. I was pushing really hard in January to get my miles up but in February I just lost the motivation to go running. I had life stress too, but I think the 2 added together was too much. So I’m going right back to the beginning and trying to build a good aerobic base. I’ve never been able to ‘talk and run’ which is supposed to be the clue that you are running aerobic ally . Maybe see what happens to me before you think about changing what you are doing? ( if it doesn’t work you don’t want to lose what you’ve got!

      • I’ve been doing it for a while and I did improve, but more like weeks. Now since adding in more ‘fun’ and increasing duration I noticed my resting hr is 10 beats higher … my MAF pace seems to not be improving as well. Maffetone writes in his books that you should only add speed once the MAF rate does not improve or use races. Maybe I should stick to slow running at least while I increase duration. I think there will be loads of times when I try and do a ‘base’ phase. Confusing thoughts right now lol.

      • mawil1 says:

        Id have to read again, as I’m working on a ‘need to know’ basis. I don’t even know how I’m going to do a monthly MAF test because I tried to do one on the treadmill and couldn’t run slow enough to get my HR down or walk fast enough to get it up!๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

Leave a Reply

