One week summary of maffetone.

I’ve listed my stats for the week below, for anyone who is interested. My target heart rate is supposed to be 125 and I’m needing to walk a lot to keep it down, so in fact most days I’m edging above it. I’ve added the pace so that you can see just how much walking I’m doing! The only time I’ve managed to stay in the right zone was on the elliptical trainer!

I’m curious to see what my results will be in another 11 weeks.

Today as I was walking by the canal I was overtaken by 2 ladies of my age and stature, red faced and gasping. I felt a bit silly,walking, completely restful and breathing normally but absolutely sure that my circulating cortisol would be much lower than theirs😊 Will I be as fast as them in 6 months? Who knows? but I’m not worried. They looked happy with their efforts, I felt happy with mine.

 

Thursday 49 mins walk run average  HR 129  average pace 18:05/mile

wednesday 67 mins walk run average HR 128 average pace 21:14/ mile (hilly)

tuesday – whoops ran out of time.

monday- set out, felt tired, went back home.

sunday 80 mins walk run average HR 127 average pace 17:37/ mile

saturday 90 mins walk ( with hubs) average HR 108  pace 23:13/ mile (hill)

Friday 30 mins elliptical trainer average HR 117

thursday 90 mins walk run average HR 127 average pace 16:15/mile

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One week summary of maffetone.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Running happy will be you babes! XxxX

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    *sitting at her computer hoping to avert the ‘fat finger typo iphone syndrome’*

    J, its sounds like you have this taped!

    I too feel REALLY weird about going slow… thats because we let ourselves feel PRESSURED into going fast, beating times, making PBs, keeping up with so-and-so… and you are SO right… with this method we are reducing the stress we inflict by not ‘stressing’ our bodies out… taking it easy, working with the ‘machine’ we have… basically ‘running it in’ (‘scuse the pun)…
    11 weeks is a long time, but it will fly past when you’re having fun and enjoying the process… seeing results… feeling like a million dollars!

    Reading both yours and SRG’s blog is inspiring and hopefully we can all three (or more if there are more of you out there SHOW yourself *lol*) can motivate and inspire each other through it.

    I learnt a BIG lesson this week… FEED THE MACHINE and feed it well!

    Thank you for all your advice and tips…

    and HEY! you are ROCKING this! well done YOU *MWAH* *mwah*

    Here is to STRONG, FIT and HEALTHY us in every way possible!

    xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      I don’t know about ‘taped’ but I’m giving it my best shot😃 Love the ‘running it in’ idea!!! And I’ll raise a glass to strong, fit and healthy too! If we look after these bodies they will last us a long time yet!

  3. Wow – what a list! With such a first week, after the 3 months, you’ll be running like clock-work and be completely addicted to it 🙂 I wish I had that patience ..

    • mawil1 says:

      I’m a great starter…. Consistency isnt my strong point tho so we will see!

      • Have you ever tested “trainingspeaks”? It shows nicely how consistency improves your fitness or how fast you loose it … you can test it for 10 days and import your existing data via tapirik. In my case if I loose consistency, it’s just the thing a data geek needs to get back …

      • mawil1 says:

        Not heard of it – I will look for it. I know that consistency works , just not very good at it !!

      • Slow running will help with this 😀

      • mawil1 says:

        I’m sure that you are right. If subliminally you are feeling tired, unrecovered or afraid of the pain and effort it must make you think twice about getting out.

      • Indeed. Through that it became a habit and I suppose as there are no excuses it’s something I do and don’t have to decide … interesting topic.

Leave a Reply

