My Favourite runs#1

Good news for us, we have sold our house and will soon be moving. Hurrah! (Feeling very British today – it’s cricket weather) Although we love it here the move will reduce my daily commute by about 90 minutes which will be fantastic. 90 minutes a day should service a fitness habit nicely!

One of the things I will miss are the great runs from my door so I’m trying to do all my favourites for one last time before I go. There will be great runs where I’m going too, but I want to celebrate the great times I’ve had here courtesy of my running.

The first one is a 5k loop along the canal towards Blackburn.

image

 

If I’m feeling a bit shy, don’t fancy running past the neighbours or being seen in public  in my running kit I take this trail at the end of our road. I think of this as the  ‘snow white’ trail. Sometimes when I’ve gone this way, very early on a summers morning, butterflies fly up from the grass, rabbits hop in front of you and birds fly around, it’s just like being in a Disney film!

It isn’t all pretty. After this I cross the road and go through a brown field site.

image

 

There used to be a power station here , demolished  before we moved into the area. For over a decade it was taken over by willow and birch but a few weeks ago that was all bulldozed. I think that there’s a plan to build houses there now.

image

From here you can go on past the new power plant which is surrounded by  lovely bluebell woods then onto the canal towpath

image

The great thing about running by the canal is the flatness. Everywhere else around here is hilly but you can go for miles along the canal. It can be quite muddy but is generally pleasant.

image

When I come off the canal for a 5k run, there’s a path I take which passes through a strip of woodland,  which is only about 20m wide, between the road and the canal. Despite being narrow it is home to lots of birds and small creatures and feels very ‘woody’.

image

Then it’s about a mile along the road to get home. Don’t forget the killer hill near the end!image

So that’s my usual 5k route.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Favourite runs#1

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Oh wow! Truly beautiful!!!!

  2. Beautiful 🙂 But here’s to finding a new 5km running route. All the best with the move. When I got to stop my travel (an hour each way) I felt so liberated.

  3. bitzy-ku says:

    Good luck with your move 🙂
    Have fun discovering a new route xx

  4. So... says:

    It’s so pretty! And congratulations on your new home! May you find many more running roads.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! We don’t live in a ‘special’ place, Blackburn isn’t a town people flock to to live, but behind all the roads and houses there are lots of lovely green pockets☺️ One advantage over living in a city.

  5. oscardiamond says:

    A lovely selection of run routes. Have you checked out the runs near your new home?

    • mawil1 says:

      Not exactly, due to the fact that we aren’t exactly sure where that will be! Looking to rent for a while but yesterday’s viewing was disappointing. However wherever we end up in sure that I’ll find new routes, I have a map!!!

Leave a Reply

