Fine tuning.

I’m persisting with the Maffetone method.

Friday was a busy day and around 8:30 pm I had to make the decision about whether to go out for a run/walk or  go to bed at a reasonable time.  As Maffetone emphasises no physical stress and lots of recovery/rest I decided on the early night.

I woke up nice and early on Saturday and the weather was beautiful and I did my 4.5 mile route around Hoghton bottoms. It was lovely.

image.jpeg

However I was very tired on Saturday evening and after only 1 small glass of wine with dinner was in bed at 8:30!!

On Sunday I listened to the Maffetone podcast recommended by ceejaykayfit.com  and took note of a couple of points;

1 max heart rate means max not average. If your average is at the max and you go above and below this to get the average, then your average needs to be lower to ensure that you don’t go above your max.

2 if you are feeling tired or constantly hungry you are overdoing the volume or intensity of training

Having experienced both this weekend, I thought that if I’m going to do this properly I need to go S..L..O..W..E..R (can that be possible?)

The only way I have found so far of ensuring that consistent HR is the elliptical trainer at the gym  set to the ‘fat burning’ programme.  So I did 35 mins on Sunday and 30 on Monday.

image

It was quite funny at the gym – my mind just wandered off into a world of its own and only came back to catch the eye of one of the PT’s. Who knows what she thought of this daydreaming woman not even breaking a sweat!!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fine tuning.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Wow! That average looks amazing! Really well done! I thin if I went on the elliptical for35mins I would blow my HRM😂 that thing KILLS ME! 10/15 mins and my kegs are JELLY!
    REALLY well done!

    • mawil1 says:

      Lol! I’m moving so slowly it looks like slo-mo! I think the PT’s think I don’t know what I’m doing and are thinking about lightening my load – from my purse…….😆😆

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    S***t my Kegs 😂😂😂😂😂 🤓🤓🤓

  3. Wonderful looking max HR!

Leave a Reply

