Time for numbers?

I’m still plodding along (literally!) with the maffetone method. Aspects that I have managed to adopt from dr maffetone are reducing sugar and processed foods in my diet, exercising well within my aerobic threshold and trying to manage my life stress.

So far the biggest change that I have seen is a little bit of weight loss. I have some high tech bathroom scales that upload my weight and body fat percentage to my phone, so I have a nice chart of this which I am willing to share😳

image

I gave up sugar in October last year when I was 150lb. I lost weight until I had ‘2 weeks off ‘ over christmas, then after christmas lost it again until March, when I was feeling a bit sorry for myself and went on a chocolate / cake fest. The weight piling on didn’t make me feel any better so at the beginning of April I did the maffetone 2 week test ( very low carbohydrate) and it’s been slipping down since then. I know that it isn’t a big weight loss but I’m very happy with it. At 5’2 I can afford to lose another 10- 14lb.

The change in body fat doesn’t look so impressive;

image.

I don’t know why I get those sharp dips now and then, whether it’s dehydration or the corner of the bathmat tucked under the scale! But I thought that my 4lb would be more than 2% of my body fat! Obviously some will be water but I hope that I’m not losing muscle mass or bone density. There’s no reason why I should be, I’m getting more dietry calcium, vitamin D than I ever did thanks to eating more cheese and yoghurt. Also lots of veggies for vitamins and minerals, which also should be giving me enough carbs to prevent my body thinking its starving so it doesn’t need to break down muscle for sugar.

A bigger challenge has been trying to run at a steady pace and maintain the right heartrate. Thanks to slowrunningirl who told me how to overlay graphs in garmin connect (click the button that says ‘overlay’  doh!! I never noticed it before!) I can show you what happens when I run laps around the (flat) park.

image

This is run/ walking but pretty steady. Generally moving slowly but only small variations in heart rate (red). All my other routes have hills in them and even walking is anaerobic! See the contrast below;

image.jpeg

There are times where my HR is too high despite standing still! The first half was mainly uphill, the second mainly downhill. So it looks like running on the flat or down hill is the way to go just now. Or of course the elliptical trainer- how’s this for in the zone?

image

For stress I’m trying to squeeze in 10 minutes of meditation into my day. I’ve sorted out some playlists to listen to in the car instead of the radio – much more fun! I’m also trying to not watch TV – getting hooked into a drama at 9pm means not being in bed before 10:30 and for 8 hours sleep I need to be zedding by 10pm😴

To some people this lifestyle might sound incredibly dull; sleep, healthy eating, gentle exercise etc but I’m content with it and see it as money in the bank. Currently I’m paying off an overdraft! But once the reserves are built up I’ll be able to have little splurges of fun, fun fun!😀😀

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, fun, garmin, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, My fitness pal, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Time for numbers?

  1. Love the stats!! (I think we all do, lol)

  2. Fan of the stats as well! The dip with the scale might be dry feet vs wet?
    I think I called what you describe ‘reverse hill sprints’ love it when I can run super fast downhill. Feels like cheating though because I get PRs on Garmin that should not count lol. Makes it even more fun!

  3. bitzy-ku says:

    It’s good to see things changing, well done, in the long run analysing your stats and making better choices must make you feel better, if it does then it’s definitely the right path for you – keep it up :). Did your move go well? Xx

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks bitzy ku! We havent actually moved yet, once you agree to sell/ move there’s lots of legal paperwork and that isn’t complete yet. Just as well, because sorting through 20 yrs of clutter takes time ….!

      • bitzy-ku says:

        Ah, I see – thought you’d already done that part and it was imminent. The clutter takes time, I hope it doesn’t tax you horrendously xx

      • mawil1 says:

        In a way it’s really good, I have things like notes and books from medical school ( in case I need to look at them) in the age of the Internet? Shoes that I have only worn a few times ‘but they were expensive’ but letting it all go can be therapeutic. I took 12 pairs of shoes to the charity shop, now I dont have to look at them any more or dust them or feel guilty about not getting any wear out of them! So I just need to avoid accumulating more😊 And more difficult, persuading my husband to do the same……

  4. Heather says:

    Thank you! I had always wondered what the “no overlay” meant when I expanded my graphs. Now I can overlay too. 😀

Leave a Reply

