Maffetone week 3

I’m hanging on with the Maffetone thing. There have been blips (large glass of wine followed by choc banana muffin yesterday. The wine was worth it: the muffin? It didn’t taste that amazing , yes I made it myself, but once you’ve had the first bite you can’t really throw it away can you , well you can if you actually think about it logically but if you’ve just had a large glass of wine then logic works differently🤔)

Otherwise I have been DETERMINED TO DO IT RIGHT !! This week. In order to achieve this, and by doing it right I mean keeping my HR in the zone, I have been a gym bunny this week.

image

Yes, pink and hairy, that’s my gym look😊

So to summarise my activity has been on the elliptical trainer

Sunday 35 mins

monday 30 mins

tuesday rest

Weds 40 mins

thursday drank wine instead

friday 40mins And 15 on the revolving staircase.

The revoving staircase thingy is quite good, so good that it’s positioned in front of the boring TV with all the ‘gym brand’ info and ads on it and there’s usually someone using it. I decided to sacrifice ‘homes under the hammer’ in favour of using the stair machine whilst it was free.  There are 2 and I noticed today that I was doing 20steps a minute in my zone whereas the man next to me was doing 100. (Thank goodness for vari focal contacts eh?) but his HR was 157 which I suspected was zone 4 for him. No doubt he will be very tired tonight whereas I will be DOMS free and raring to go again tomorrow😎

I don’t know if I’m making any progress yet as my first attempt at a MAF test failed as I couldn’t do a steady run in my HR zone. I might try this again on Sunday but on Saturday set up a test on the elliptical trainer ie how long does it take to do 3 miles at my HR. If I’m improving that should get less each week.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, healthy diet, heartrate, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, running, slow run, stats geek. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Maffetone week 3

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    😂😂😂 that look suits you Jules!!!!

  2. This is the right look for a Maffochist! Just keep going, it seems to work for me and at least you are not tired or risk injury.

    • mawil1 says:

      I think that’s the point isn’t it? About being well enough to keep going and building a base that means that you are fit enough to improve your performance later. 3 weeks done, 9 to go!

Leave a Reply

