Running for health? moderation is best.

Today I listened to a really interesting  TED talk on YouTube. To summarise, for a long healthy life, less than 25 miles per week running, 2 rest days and preferably slower than a 10 minute mile pace. Obviously I’m happy as that fits in with my current plan😊 Click the link to hear/see the talk yourself and assess the evidence. Don’t worry if you aren’t a doctor or scientist, he explains it really well.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, marathon, middle aged women, Motivation, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, training plan, Uncategorized, walking, work life balence, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Running for health? moderation is best.

  1. Slower than a 10-minute mile pace… yep! I got that!! 😀

    • mawil1 says:

      I havent once yet done a 10 minute mile.! How nice to know that it’s good for my health☺️ (Really smug emoticon doesn’t appear to exist otherwise I would have used it here!)

  2. shazruns says:

    Two days rest I do but fall short on the other two! Does this mean I will have a shortened life? I must go and have a listen.

    • mawil1 says:

      I found the TED talk from an article in this months runners world. They (RW) point out that the study was based on small numbers. But bigger studies (looking at 50000 people running for 10yrs) also show higher levels of cardiac problems in later life if not death. I suppose that what matters is are you running so hard ie anaerobic ally that you do damage? In the talk he says you can do as much aerobic exercise as you like, so if you do allot of long slow running rather than tempo running you wouldn’t do any damage. See what you think, obviously I pick out the stuff that says what I want to hear!! You might pick out something completely different! So long as you feel well and not exhausted ( overtraining) I’m sure that you will be fine 😊

      • shazruns says:

        That’s interesting, to be honest I rarely do hard mainly because I am lazy and it is so dam hard. I prefer to plod for a long while! I will make sure to listen and pick out the stuff that means what I do is fabulous! X

  3. Besides the 2 rest days I am in! Love TED 🙂

  4. Gareth says:

    Oh dear lord now youve introduced me to even more stuff to watch!

  5. pwhent says:

    Rest days I can do, but I think I might be breaking the law on the other two, at least for the moment!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Im not sure what the answer is! I suspect that more research needs to be done in this area!

      • oscardiamond says:

        I listened to the TED talk and unfortunately it chimed with research I had already done into adverse effects of distance running. Since my MI 7 years ago I have long suspected that hard all out running (which is what I do in races) works against the action of bisoprolol which strengthens and slows the heart beat. The heart muscle must feel it’s between a rock and a hard place!
        So, the action plan. No more half marathons, take it easier on 10ks and much easier on training runs, give up club races and training. The problem with most clubs is the emphasis on speed, times and glory. It’s their raison d’etre.
        PS let me know immediately if you hear of any large scale studies which reverse current findings on endurance running and damaging health.Yours, in anticipation.

      • mawil1 says:

        I feel a bit guilty now as I gleefully shared this talk because the work presented fits very nicely with my own agenda.😳 Completely thoughtless of me because a lot of people are running along on perfectly normal training plans and saying ‘ am I putting myself at risk of an early death?’ I think that there’s so much that we don’t know. With newer research into genetics coming out already people can identify ‘types’ saying whether people are suited to sprinting, endurance, strength or prone to injury. And of course we all ‘know’ that some people appear to have much more natural ability than others. So I think that the research questions that really need to be asked are 1 how can we determine how much natural ability an individual has and 2 can we determine what the training needs and limitations are for a person according to their natural abilities. The other exciting research field which applies to both sport and cancer research is that of epigenetics. This is about how your environment and lifestyle can affect whether a gene you have actually functions or stays inactive. Exercise for instance has been shown to change gene expression and this is the mechanism by which things like your grandparents lifestyle can have an effect on you ie starvation in infancy. So sincere apologies for upsetting people. I will continue to read and research, maybe a bit more thoroughly than just taking articles like this at face value! I wouldn’t do it at work, where I’m a sticker for appropriate scientific method and investigation so I should apply the same standards to my hobbies😬

  6. oscardiamond says:

    Clearly no need for an apology.There was no sense of glee in your post. This is a forum to make comments, share experiences, offer advice or occasionally to be daft. It’s not meant to be scientifically rigorous or balanced. These TED talks are designed to make you think and then to do some more research if you want to. Anybody jumping to the conclusion their non aggressive traing plan is going to shorten their life needs to find out how to switch off their tabloid gene!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you😊😊 I listened again. The way he presents the evidence, 50,000 people, moderate exercisers surviving better than couch potatoes or people running more than 25 miles per week, it’s very convincing! Enough to make me rethink my marathon aspirations!

Leave a Reply

