First world problems: Lycra always fits!

For the last couple of weeks I have been doing more exercise at the gym. In the foyer to the gym is a sweatshop and I can see all the lovely coloured kit, printed leggings with neon and pastel colours, it’s so tempting and I feel a little yearning to buy a new ‘outfit’?

It’s about 4 years since I started running, and I remember buying my first kit:

image

This is me wearing it about 18 months later and half a stone lighter. I’m shuffling over the finish line at Parkrun ( looking a bit grumpy, I think I struggled!). I remember buying it, I liked the colour but more importantly the leggings had a deep waistband which didn’t create a ‘muffin top’. It made me feel a little more confident.

In those early days I needed kit – running 3 or 4 times per week but doing laundry only once a week meant I needed 4 lots of kit and then of course there were long sleeve tops and tights in winter, shorts and vests for summer ( funnily enough 2 pairs of shorts has been more than sufficient!) so for the first year buying running gear was a regular event.

 

This was my second outfit. Three years later and 10lb lighter it still fits! It certainly isn’t too bigπŸ˜†πŸ˜† (the boy is taller than me now btw!)

I bought quite a bit of Nike kit, which is good quality. I always line dry it, never Β tumble dry and despite around 200 washes it’s still in good nick ( not complaining about that!)

So , I don’t NEED any new kit.

Over the years I have bought a couple of additional things, the windstopper tights for cold wet weather (fabulous – can’t wait for the winter to use them again!!) and a pair of compression tights which have been handy for long runs but aren’t getting much use at the moment.

I have actually tried on patterned leggings in the past, and come to the conclusion that Β black really is more flattering/slimming. So I suspect that I will succumb to temptation/ curiosity and go to the shop at some point, try on some of those lovely clothes, decide that I have enough kit and probably come away with a t shirt or vest topπŸ˜†

At the end of the day I have learned that looking good is more about how you feel about yourself. Despite only losing a few pounds I feel much better – maybe because exercise gives you better muscle tone and posture, maybe because it helps you to feel more positive mentally.

And buying kit? If you buy quality it will last for years, so be choosy and pick something that you like!

So what’s your approach to running kit? Co -ordinating kit? Capsule wardrobe? Couldn’t care less? Or regularly adding new pieces because you like them? With the men, are you tempted by new tech and promises of better performance, or does fashion influence your choices?

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in change, CLOTHING, fashion, fitness, fun, gore mythos running tights, habits, Inspiration, middle aged women, Motivation, parkrun, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to First world problems: Lycra always fits!

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    I LOVE funky leggings! But I do go for black, or BLACK or bLaCk or BlaCK πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ most of the time… My fitness wardrobe is vast and varied cos I don’t have a strict ‘work’ wardrobe so I push those boundaries with comfy wear…

    • mawil1 says:

      πŸ˜†πŸ˜† Due to your shoe habit, I would have put money on you having funky leggings and encouraging me to buy some new gear!!! 😳Wrong!! I guess that like me you are 20 in your head most of the time but have enough 50 yr old to tell your 20 yr old to be sensible!

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Nope lolololol! I was being ‘proper’ in my comment! I apologise πŸ˜‰
        I have loads a funky leggings and I am constantly being told off for leading friends astray with funky trainers/leggings/hair bands/caps etc…
        Jules… GO BUY THE LEGGINGS!!!! It makes going for a workout a lot of fun! Wish you were on Instagram you’d see my workout gear today πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        The black is for when I’m out with the kid πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ don’t wanna embarrass him…
        And I can get away with wearing them to work under a baggy jumper or long shirt… But COLOUR all the way for a walk/run/gym!
        Just do it!
        πŸ‘ΌπŸΌπŸ‘ΌπŸΌπŸ‘ΌπŸΌ

      • mawil1 says:

        Ha! So my intuition was correct! It’s so embarrassing when I put 2+2 together and get 6!! Actually it’s probably not intuition at all I’m sure you have posted pictures of your legs before now and I have subliminally remembered your leggings!πŸ€”β˜ΊοΈ
        I think that I can justify buying a top and some leggings in celebration of my returned enthusiasm for fitness. πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒIn Manchester there’s a big Nike shop with adidas opposite so maybe I’ll make a trip there next weekend!

      • CeeJayKay says:

        OH EM GEE!!! Yes you have a NIKE town there!!!! Ooooh go shopping Jules!!!! Their running socks ARE THE BEST!!!! Oh and just everything NIKE is fab… I’m a NIKE girl… Helps that my bestie over in Portland works for them πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Ž

      • mawil1 says:

        I’ll let you know how it goes! πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

      • mawil1 says:

        There is a massive 4 floor Nike shop in London, just off Oxford street 😊 If you go there much.

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Ohhhhhh yesssss I know it well… Too well I’m told… They know me by name already *lololol* it’s like “hey Corrina you’re in London today?” *blush*

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Ps your intuition was spotON! *blush*

  2. I think I have 6 black running shirts … I do love hoodies with zipper and thumbholes in black of course πŸ˜€

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    FLIPBELT!!! Best Buy EVER!!!!

  4. So... says:

    Black on black! And these days no shoes!πŸ˜„

  5. shazruns says:

    I remember thinking I will diet till my leggings are too big….well that never happened, dam things always fit! Sometimes that Lycra just works against you!

  6. Have to love new running gear πŸ™‚ but yes it does last for ages if looked after.

Leave a Reply

