Oops!

After such a great bank holiday weekend, it had to happen – yes – the dreaded opposite!

Tuesday I reluctantly took a rest day, because I thought I should.Instead of going to the gym or running I tackled the toy cupboard ย with my son. That’s an awful lot of stretching lunging and lifting I’ll have you know! Boy was I stiff on Wednesday! ย I was on Chauffeur duties for the rest of the week, which eats into ones free time considerably. Not realising that I might be using up valuable exercise time, on Wednesday I went ‘mall walking’ ( now an official endurance training event, thank you for naming it to chocolaterunsjudy !). Seriously, I find that a trip to a shopping mall will chalk up more steps than an average day!

Imagine my surprise to find that the Nike store in Manchester has disappeared! Not to worry though. You can still get lots of Nike, under armour, adidas etc at sports direct, all at reduced prices if you don’t mind last seasons ‘fashion’. At adidas and JD sports I was entertained by the ‘sports meets fashion’ vibe going on, with tropical print blouson jackets and marching capris and shorts. I left all that to the youngsters and went off to sweatshop where I finally purchased some printed capri’s.

image.jpeg

Not coloured but jazzy enough for me! I planned to test them out that evening, but by the time I’d done all my chores it was too late.

Ditto Thursday and Friday. I don’t know what happened! And to add insult to injury on Friday I had a junk food binge. Well it’s a binge now, but it’s not that long ago since a fruit scone, a packet of crisps and KFC for tea would have constituted a fairly normal day๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„ Maybe sometimes you need to slip back to see how far you have come?

today I went to the gym and did 30mins on the elliptical trainer and 30 on the stair machine, all in my aerobic HR zone. Back with the programme!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in CLOTHING, fashion, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, high protein, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Nutrition, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Stress, time management, training plan, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Oops!

  1. So... says:

    Fall down 7 times, get up 8. That’s us runners ๐Ÿ˜Š.

  2. Nice capris ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve had a few ‘fall off the LCHF wagon’ moments of late. But as So said above, fall off, get back on as many times as needed.

    • mawil1 says:

      Actually getting a new item of clothing can give you a little lift! Hubs commented that my new capris made my bum look shapely!! I did think all that time in the stair machine might have contributed ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    Loving the tights! What I would do for a KFC *drool* I think I may have that as my ‘treat’ today… A couple of boneless pieces!!!! YUM!

    • mawil1 says:

      The the KFC – didn’t eat as much as I normally would – there were hot wings left over ! But I felt full so I stopped ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ shock!! I felt awful on Friday for ‘eating all that junk’ but when I wrote it down in the blog I realised that it wasn’t a big deal!๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜† back to normal nowโ˜บ๏ธ

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Yup… Just pick it back up again babes… And so we learn! I had toast this morning… Marmite toast OMG! It was deeeevine!!!! That is going to be my Sunday morning treat… So far it’s the only thing I miss… Hot toast with butter and marmite! Im going to look for a Paleo recipe I think…
        I make flat bread with oat BRAN egg and Greek yoghurt but it’s not the same as granary toasted… EVER! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

      • mawil1 says:

        Toast with marmite is like a million times better than toast with marmalade! All my neglected jam and marmalade went mouldy and got washed down the sink and not replaced ๐Ÿ˜Œ Smug๐Ÿ˜ŒThe flat bread recipe sounds interesting but I think I’ll just stick to eggs for breakfast! Ps my flip belt has arrived. Stuff fits in it, so just need to try it outโ˜บ๏ธ

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Yay!!!! Let me know how you like it! Nothing beats eggs for brekkie!!! Yum!

  4. Rest is better than over training ๐Ÿ˜€ enjoy your new gear!

  5. Loving the capris!! 30 minutes on the stairs plus elliptical is nothing to sneeze about… sounds exhausting! Good for you for getting back on it! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • mawil1 says:

      The thing about this HR zone is that by keeping it very low intensity you dont get tired in the same way. You don’t get a ‘high’ either. But I’m sticking it out for 3 months๐Ÿ˜Š

  6. pwhent says:

    Everyone falls off the wagon from time to time Julie. The trick in my experience is to quickly draw a line under it and return to the healthy life, which it sounds like you have done, so well done!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Falling off the wagon? I’m such an old hand I’m like one of those Cowboys in the westerns, clinging on with my knees whilst I fight off the baddies with one hand and rescuing the world with he other! No wagon gets rid of me that easily ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

  7. It’s very rare for me to have a day like I did Saturday — in the past, I’ve eaten a couple of the cookies or none at all. But hey, it happens, and getting right back at it is the most important thing.

    I love those capris!

Leave a Reply

