Imagine..

Imagine that you are in Lancashire. And you have been captured. ( no surprise, true Lancastrians are a rare and wonderful thing, highly prized and sought after). You have been tied to a chair, blindfolded and have ear mufflers on. You don’t know if it is day or night, or even the time of year. Then your captor says to you ‘If you can correctly tell me what the weather is like outside, I will set you free. If you are wrong, I will kill you’. Obviously you would say ‘it’s raining’ as the odds are about 80% that you would be correct.

Today however, you would have died.

It was gloriously sunny. As I had some free time I decided to go for a leisurely run/walk. I planned a 5mile loop, the outward half cross country and mainly up hill, the return half mainly on the road and down hill. My expectation was that I would probably have to walk most of the first half to keep my HR aerobic, but could jog downhill on the way back.

image
View from a country lane

Did I wear a hat, sunscreen, sunglasses or take water? Of course not. You only need to do that when you go on holiday to a sunny place. Unless it’s one of the 2 really sunny days per year here.

It was hot! I was thirsty! By the time I got to 21/2 miles my head was banging and I was wondering if someone would find me if I collapsed in the field! Silly girl😬

I didn’t have to run at all, after the first 10 minutes as my HR was too high all the way around, due to the dehydration I expect.

Despite all that, it was lovely to be out!!! No long lasting side effects☺️ Which kind of weather is most likely to catch you out?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, fun, habits, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, time management, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Imagine..

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    LOVE this… made me giggle! you painted a perfect picture! I could just picture it! *lololol* funny girl!
    God your pic is gorgeous! i know the feeling though, i went out last night too, got back and hubby was out in the garden with an ice cold beer, i could have pegged him with my NW stick and run off with that beer… however the kind man had put a large glass of water with ice cubes and lime slices in the fridge for me… bless him! it was AMAZING!
    HOW GLORIOUS IS THIS WEATHER???? i am LOVING it! long may it last!
    enjoy enjoy!
    xxx

  2. Gareth says:

    Definitely hot weather! I turn into some kind of heat avoiding sloth in summer so if I can run this summer itll probably be dusk or dawn for me!

    • mawil1 says:

      It caught me by surprise! The only thing about running at dusk is the flies in summer🙁 So I end up on the roads. But it’s sort of nice, people are out and about having barbies so you get a bit more atmosphere!

      • Gareth says:

        Roads nooooooooo lol people noooooooooo…. Actually you have the advantage here, you could sprint through their gardens at speed snaffling bbq goodies and they wont catch you!

      • mawil1 says:

        😆😆😆hurdling over garden fences trailing a string of sausages! Drinking the paddling pool more like😄

  3. shazruns says:

    Oh have been there done that, that’s when muddy puddles and streams begin to look tempting!

    That is an amazing photo.

  4. You made me laugh! Thankfully I work alone. Hydration is a low heart rate hack … but let’s blame the sun, seems to be rare enough.

  5. pwhent says:

    I have done that Julie. People think running in the sun is a joy…..but it can be a sufferfest if you get it wrong. It is less than a month since I found myself on my hands and knees drinking from a stream like a dog. But like you, I would rather have been out than not. Loving the positive vibe in your blog recently!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Needs must! And you survived😊 I’m feeling a lot more positive than I have been. Glad to share it😀 Thanks for sticking with my blog even when I was low.

  6. Great post! I definitely wilt in the heat. I hate cold, but I’d still rather run in it. And I’d even rather tackle wind.

    What a lovely place you live in! How I wish my running route looked like that.

  7. oscardiamond says:

    You have succeeded in making me fearful of stepping into Lancashire! Do these abductions happen frequently? Are they connected with the EU referendum? Beautiful running country if you want to risk it. And what’s the difference between Lancashire and Yorkshire?

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi ho Ho! Lancashire is west, Yorks is east. Lancashire won the war of the roses and the queen is the duke of Lancaster. (Ie she’s one of us) Lancashire has a lovely red rose, Yorkshire an insipid white one, but most of all Lancashire is basically just better!!!! How could you even need to ask ? And it’s quite safe as long as you don’t say ‘ey up lass’ or ‘eccy thump!’ No one will mistake you for a native😊😊

  8. So... says:

    I love summer! Hydration can be tricky though.
    Your picture is simply gorgeous, such a pretty pretty view. I wouldn’t be able to run just soaking it all in. 😊

  9. Oh I hate the heat for running. We have to get up so early to beat it in the summer.

    • mawil1 says:

      I’ve been setting my alarm – but going back to sleep! If it’s hot in the night I wake up then I’m tired in the morning. #neverhappy😆😆

Leave a Reply

