Impatient.

Normal weather has been resumed. I went for a run tonight accompanied by the sound  of rain drops  plopping in the leafy canopy over head. Summer plants have blossomed but their petals have been battered by the rain, strewn into my path treating me like royalty.

image

This is week 5 of the maffetone method for me. I’ve managed to exercise on alternate days within my heart rate which is good. Gym Sunday, run Monday, run Wednesday, gym and swim Friday, run Sunday.

Diet wise I got a bit impatient. Low carb has been working well for me and I wondered if I could push it a bit further with ‘ bulletproof coffee’. This is coffee blended with a tablespoon of butter and another of coconut oil. The key is in the blending, it stops it from being greasy and gives you a nice frothy coffee, so not as disgusting as you might think.

The idea is that you have this for breakfast and it keeps you sated until lunchtime. Some think that it is equivalent to intermittent fasting which has benefits in reducing IGF secretion and promotes BDNF. Because bucket proof coffee doesn’t contain any carbs or protein, and does contain short chain fatty acids it is supposed to promote the generation of ketone bodies for energy, promote fat burning, and encourage weight loss. I thought that it would save time, compared to cooking eggs for breakfast. After gaining 3lb in 3 days I wasn’t  convinced although when I stopped the coffee It dropped off again in the next 2days. Also I found, as I did when I tried the 5:2 diet last year that I can’t cope with extremely low levels of carbs, I get muscle tremors and brain fog, not the clarity and euphoria protagonists describe. Obviously weight can fluctuate for many reasons and the gain might not have been due to the hundreds of calories in that coffee.

I had time to reflect on all this whilst I was out on my gentle run in the rain today.

I think that I got a bit impatient with my progress when I watched one of those slimming programmes on TV, where with a healthy eating and exercise programme people lose 2 to 3 lb per week, whereas I’m only managing 2 to 3lb per month! Fortunately I have a lot less to lose than them. For me, slow progress is better than no progress. There are no quick fixes or shortcuts and I want a sustainable, healthy lifestyle. So I may have a bulletproof coffee instead of a cooked breakfast if I’m in a hurry, but I’ll be sticking with my maffetone approach for the next 7 weeks as planned. Considering how painless it is it would be silly not to!

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fast diet, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, Nutrition, running, slow run, stretching, time management, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Impatient.

  1. I have never heard of that coffee before… super interesting! Fats are supposed to keep you satisfied longer… soooo…. but not really worth it if you gain a pound a day, hehe. 😀 Love how the flower petals grace the way for you!!

    • mawil1 says:

      I read the book ‘ the bulletproof diet’. It’s so- so. The author has read a lot of research then used it to formulate his own ideas then tested out his theories on one person ie himself. So he has jumped to a lot of conclusions without rigorous evidence. However he has found what works for him and other people have tried it and it has worked for some of them too. So it isn’t something I would wholeheartedly reccomend, but if a friend was trying it I would observe with interest!

  2. myquietroar says:

    That photo is beautiful. Was the programme ‘losing weight for love’ by any chance? I watched it this week and quite enjoyed it! But you’re right that 2-3lbs is different for someone who has never exercised/watched their eating than ppl who exercise regularly and eat healthily most of the time- I applaud your patience! I’m loving your maffetone updates- it’s very interesting.

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes it was that programme! They did so well, but isn’t it silly to compare my need t o lose 20lb with her need to lose 9st? I like the way they tackle the psychology, and when he suggested that she gave a donation to a political party if she didn’t meet her goal I was like ‘OK’ then when she didn’t succeed, I was so pleased for her when it motivated her and she said ‘double or quits’. I knew that she was going to make it then! There’s such a spectrum of disordered eating in the population, from too much to too little and it can be so difficult for people to make good choices when there is so much conflicting and confusing information out there. Thanks for visiting! I hope that all is well with you😊😊

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    stick with it babes… join the FB page, there is so much encouragement and newbie stories to keep you motivated… i too picked up in week 3/4, i did panic and hit the carbs, but i felt crap and so have set my mind to stick with it! the BEST is that i am so enjoying the workouts… i love not hurting and i love that i can smile and chat while doing it…
    🙂 ~*~*~blows kisseys~*~*~

    PS… do not read glossy magazines or watch slimming programs, they will only make you feel bad about yourself… as said by Mr Baz Luhrmann in the Sunshine song!

    • mawil1 says:

      Is that a MAF fb page? You are so right CJ. I dragged myself out for yesterday’s run/walk and like you say, no pain, it was good to be out and it cleared my head. It doesn’t feel like ‘exercise’!! One of life’s lessons I haven’t yet mastered is ‘enjoy the journey’. I’m so goal oriented that I want to get there- then what? Set another goal! I think that I am starting to enjoy my MAF for the sake of it though😊😊

      • CeeJayKay says:

        yes, its a MAF FB page… what i like is that people, newbies like me… people like me who don’t have a clue ask questions i can relate to…
        The success stories are not only inspiration, but motivational too…
        And there is some interesting information that gets shared too…
        Keep enjoying… 🙂

      • mawil1 says:

        Found it! Thanks CJ, what would I do without your initiative ? It never occurred to me to search😊😊

      • CeeJayKay says:

        I read it feverishly 📱😇

  4. Great picture, and interesting words. Coffee sounds a bit extreme! When I was at school ( you know the one ) one of my fellow boarders ( yes I was a prisoner there ) used to put a dollop of margarine in his tea. We weren’t offered butter.

    • mawil1 says:

      Margarine! It used to be so popular, easy to spread when your butter was rock hard. Now I’m quite anti marge! All the wrong kinds of fats in it, so bad for your health I think. How times change! Your dormitory was probably our 6th form study area😊😊

  5. Here is my unpopular opinion: I eat loads of carbs and did while I lost all the weight. What I found out – which might or might apply to others – is that the type of carbs matter. In example I only eat whole wheat pasta. I do eat huge amounts of veg and olive oil with it, but low carbs just doesn’t feel right. I don’t think I have issues with fat burning either. Imho the whole ketosis and primal discussion is not a sustainable way to live (don’t know about elite athletes though), at least for me. I needed to find a way that is great tasting, leaves me fully satisfied and wanting to cook. That includes carbs in all shapes like sweet potatoes etc. My bane was milk … for some it might be gluten, but that is such a low %.

    • mawil1 says:

      I think that like so many things, one size does not fit all! My hubs lives almost entirely on carbs, bagel for breakfast, rice and pasta, but his diet leaves me hungry all the time. I eat lots of veg, including starchy stuff and that works really well for me. Ditching the non veg carbs has worked really well for me, but if I dropped dairy or those starchy veggies then I can’t cope with very low carb and I couldn’t do the fasting thing. I could manage the fast day – the problem was the next day when I ate I didn’t seem to recover! I still felt foggy and shaky. I’m guessing that ketosis isn’t for me! So now we have meals with lots of veggies but I do rice for him and the kid which I skip. Lactose intolerance runs in his family so he isn’t keen on cheese. I’ve never really believed in wheat intolerance except in proven coeliac disease, but since I gave up bread etc I’m amazed at how I don’t get bloating, gas or indigestion any more. It wouldn’t make me turn down food at someone else’s house, but now I prefer to give it a miss. Sometimes one just don’t know until one tries!

      • It might be what else is inside the bread. It’s crazy what goes into our food!
        I find things also change with age … I wouldn’t have want to miss milk/meat etc years ago, that came later with the increased running. I think it is fantastic that the body can manage all that pretty well, if we just keep it in shape, so it knows what it needs the stuff for. I just recently started to add salt to my drinks after workouts, because I felt I needed it. Probably because of the higher sweat rate!

      • mawil1 says:

        Salt is interesting too- I rarely eat processed food, don’t cook with salt or use table salt. My BP has always tended to be lower than average, but sometimes you just need something salty! I think it is hard sometimes though to recognise what it is that you want!

      • I read in a book that there is a new kind of drink available for athletes. They analyse your sweat and the drink is mixed to just the right amount of electrolytes etc your body individually needs. This made me come up with the idea to put salt in mine 🙂 I too never use it for cooking.

      • mawil1 says:

        Just licking my lips after a run tells me how much salt I need!!

      • You are a natural!

  6. You are definitely right — no quick fixes and 1-2 lbs/week is a healthy loss — and if you’re closer to your goal weight, it’s much more likely to be less.

    I definitely need carbs for my level of activity. I tend to eat lower carb on the days I don’t run, and higher carb on the days I run. And often those carbs come from fruit, veggies, potatoes (regular & sweet), brown rice, plaintains.

    • mawil1 says:

      I think that’s the best way. Simply avoiding refined sugar and flour has tipped me from gaining weight to losing. I keep an eye on how many potatoes I have and keep rice to a minimum. The hardest thing has been breakfast – no cereal or toast! But it works for me😊

Leave a Reply

