How to tell if maffetone works.

Stop doing it and see the difference!

I had guests this week and a bit of a family party. It was fun, kept me busy so I missed a day of running. I was disciplined at the party and avoided the carbs.

But the day after leftovers ………

I succumbed to a large slice of chocolate cake and some other stuff. Crusty white baguette mmmm. Afterwards I felt too bloated and sluggish to go for a run. Then the next day I missed a run as I was busy.

Today I made it out and did a nice 5 Mile walk/run at my HR. When I got back I experienced ‘runger’ despite having a big lunch an hour before going out. I haven’t had that for ages. I knew that I hadn’t been running anaerobic ally so I can only guess that I’d upset my newly fat adapted metabolism. I ate (no carbs) then fell into the sleep of the dead on the sofa. I’d left all that behind when I started doing MAF/ low carb.

It just goes to show how well this MAF thing works for me😊

This expereince just re enforces for me that I really don’t want to eat lots of cake, even if it does have chocolate butter cream frosting😋 I’d rather feel energised.

It has been so unexpected for me that changing my diet would make me feel better. I have experimented with my diet before, vegetarian, vegan, low fat, calorie counting, intermittent fasting, But this is the first time I have tried something and found that I don’t feel hungry, I feel better and I’m losing a little weight. ( I lost weight on the vegan diet until I worked out how to make cakes without eggs and butter!)

Have you ever tried to give up sugar and four based products?

if so did it work for you and how long did/have you maintained it?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, fast diet, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, high protein, low fat, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, Nutrition, plant based, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Stress, Uncategorized, Vegan, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How to tell if maffetone works.

  1. So stoked that you found out what works for you!

    • mawil1 says:

      Getting there I think😊

      • As long as you keep looking you are bound to find it. It’s interesting to see how everyBody reacts differently. I found a blog where the writer is doing a potato day… works for her.

      • mawil1 says:

        Yes, we are all different, genetics, biochemistry,psychology so we can’t expect the same approach to work for everyone. It disappoints me at work that after years of training in research and critical analysis that I’m not allowed to use these skills to make my own mind up I’m just supposed to follow a protocol. But back to life – if I’m allegedly intelligent and motivated and it’s taken so long to work out what works for me, how are people supposed to advise other people about what works for them?

      • Years ago I answered that question for myself with “Coaching”. I think a coaching approach speeds up the learning about one’s self. I did become a coach and it worked. I stopped, because it was too much effort to get clients, but I still believe in the tools and principles. Most people don’t think or like taking “advice”. Coaching helps with both … so to sum it up, it is about asking the right questions and making the right observation. Just as you did. A coach speeds this up or can get those things initiated.

  2. No, can’t say I’ve ever given up anything other than soda, but I do try to cut down on things that are high glycemic. That which works best for me is a high protein dinner late afternoon and no evening snacking. Now… if I would just apply that on a daily basis, hehe! 🙂

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    It was my birthday last week and i too had cake, frothy coffees, snacks and even icecream… i felt awful… i bloated… i had tummy cramps and the WORST thing of all is that i didn’t ENJOY the taste any more… SHOCK HORROR… i didn’t have a craving for chocolate, or sweets, but i had cake because i was being told (yip, pressure) that “it wansnt going to kill me”… i had one piece and can honestly say that it tasted bleurgh! Everyone raved about it (a Thorntons special Choc cake).

    It made me realise how addictive all this sugar really is…
    The first month was hell… i will admit to that! But i didn’t even realise that my taste had changed SO MUCH without realising AFTER that!

    Suddenly i have found that i am not looking for that Snickers Bar at around 14h00… and if i do feel like a little something, i have armed myself with Green & Blacks 70% Dark and suck on a piece of that… This weekend i have upped it to 85% and i quite LIKE IT!

    Only thing is… i haven’t lost ANY weight… i put on 2k in the first month… the last two weeks have been stable and i am hoping as i am able to up the duration of my walks and progress back to RUNNING, it will start to come off and i can get rid of this bloody injury once and for all!

    Being lighter too will help my run!

    WELL DONE YOU! love this post! xxx have a fab week!
    xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      Happy birthday! I’m glad that you are free from the grip of sugar addiction, it’s good when you realise isn’t it?😊 Sorry that you haven’t lost any weight yet though. I think it does help to motivate you for healthy choices if you are seeing the results you want. It will happen. I have lost a few pounds very slowly with ups and downs and plateaus. But feeling better is the main thing😊 I’m sure that the Nordic walking will help too- it’s the miles that burn the calories not the speed of running! And it sound like your plantar fasciitis has improved although I know you still have some issues with your leg.
      Good luck with your GP ( is that today?) deep breaths, smile, stay calm (that’s my advice to myself!😆)

      • CeeJayKay says:

        thanks J… welllllll… i thought my appointment was today! but i have come in and the post it note on my screen says 27th of June!!!! thats like NEXT MONDAY!!!! I’m going to phone today and check! TWO WEEKS for an appointment is ludicrous! I already thought one week was ‘pushing’ it! grrrr!!!!

  4. Heather says:

    I was trying to find the original post when you first mentioned this maffetone idea. Did you read a book or have you just implemented the bits and pieces on their website?

    • mawil1 says:

      I read ‘the endurance handbook’ by dr Phil Maffetone. It’s concise but covers it all. The website is interesting for people’s experience/questions. I’d already given up sugar before I read the book which was a big head start and the Maffetone thing just built on that.

  5. I have done the 21 DSD (sugar detox), I eat paleo sometimes . . . I like to bake though. I REALLY like to bake. And even though I don’t eat a lot of bread anymore, I do still eat it. I kind of balance it with the activity I’m doing — I find I can tolerate carbs better when I’m running more.

    • mawil1 says:

      I think it all boils down to what suits the individual. We arent all the same, but if I ever met someone who was trying to lose weight and struggling with constant hunger I’d suggest trying to give up sugar. Some people don’t have an issue. The thing about the Maffetone method is that you eat virtually no carbs for 2 weeks then introduce things and see how you feel. So if you haven’t got a problem with carbs or sugar then you can add them back in and feel fine. If you find you felt better without them, then it’s bye bye!

      • Oh, I totally agree that sugar is evil & no doubt I’d have no trouble at all maintaining my weight if I didn’t eat any. But I still just don’t want to totally give it up. Or cheese.

        I was talking to someone in my running group Sat, and they were saying that Weight Watchers (what I do) is too hard.

        Well, d’oh, it IS hard. But it’s healthy & it’s doable and as I pointed out most any style of eating fits into it.

Leave a Reply

