MAF on holiday!

image Yay we are on holiday! Someone who sounds very much like my mother is saying things in my head like ‘isn’t it great to have dinner cooked for you’ and ‘no cleaning to do’ except that instead of rolling my eyes I think it’s really great….. No way of avoiding it, I’m definitely middle aged and turning into my mother!

On Sunday I decided to wait until the evening to go for a run. We are in Rhodes and it is about 30C . Setting off at 5pm I went out for about 1.5 miles walk /running to maintain my MAF HR. It was still so hot, I walked most of the way back as my HR was up at my MAF limit.

On Monday I got up early to avoid the heat at 5:45 am. It was worth it! It was gently warm with a breeze off the sea, and so quiet, just birdsong, crickets and the lapping of the waves as a soundtrack. I took a picture in the mode of slow running girl and Gareth, but there won’t be many of these seascapes as we are only here for a week.  Also I’m a bit behind trend – no bicycle in the picture! If only I’d kept up to date with my blogging (wi fi is a bit patchy here) as I missed the perfect opportunity!

Hubs signed us up for a group cycle ride. Setting off at 3pm it was just too hot for me so after 3 miles I turned back. The off road parts were a bit ‘jiggly’ too. I don’t normally cycle and I was gripping on to those handlebars for dear life! I was wearing my HR monitor and at times my HR was 184 with the heat and the effort. Definitely anaerobic when you consider that my MAF aerobic threshold is a HR of 125.

image

Ah but wait! This is the shady cafe where I sat sipping an iced coffee whilst hubs slogged on to Anthony Quinn bay. And there, just in front of the little white car is my bicycle! You can just see the handlebars. Does that count?

This morning I was so stiff that I couldn’t dress myself!  Seriously I couldn’t bend over to put my pants on, I had to get help from the hubs!! 2 neurofen and a cup of coffee later I was much improved – but no sunrise run 😔 I’ve done a few laps of the pool instead, breathing through the nose so I’m guessing all within the HR band.

This afternoon I’m spending the hot part of the day in the hotel lobby, complete with air con and wi fi signal, chatting to you. Much better for my MAF project I suspect.

The food is great here too, very easy to do LCHF with lots of lovely salad and olive oil, cheese, fish and yoghurt, lots of vegetable choices at dinner. The bacclava are very tempting (Greek filo pastry deserts soaked in sugar syrup) and a tiny one did find its way onto my plate last night, but we are on holiday, so that, and the holiday wine allowance, is OK  so far as I’m concerned😊😊

how do you deal with holidays? Fitness business as usual? ditch it all for a week or two of complete hedonism? Or gentle compromise?

personally , my view is just enough to have a good time without undoing all that hard work!

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, balance, fitness, fun, garmin, healthy diet, heartrate, holidays, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Nutrition, running, slow run, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to MAF on holiday!

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    OH WOW!!!! Just beautiful!!!! Sounds stunning!!! Hope you’re having the fab best most restful time J xxx enjoy enjoy… #moersaenvious !!!!

  2. How fabulous! Hope you have a fun holiday!! And yes, I do see your bicycle handlebars there!

  3. OMG, totally wish I was there! I’ve only been to Greece once and just loved it! Our friends are there right now and I seriously told my husband we should go with them. I guess if we had we wouldn’t have our new dog, so there you go.

    Enjoy!

    • mawil1 says:

      Greece is only 4 hours away for us which makes it easier to visit! But it is lovely. We haven’t ever been to Athens and seen any of the ancient history, but we will at some point I hope😊 I’ve heard that it’s well worth a visit, so I hope that you get the opportunity one day!

  4. Gareth says:

    Awesome photo! Yep barely hidden handlebars do indeed count! Enjoy the holiday 🙂

  5. So... says:

    It sounds so indulgent… I could do with some sunshine too. Ir’s been pouring continuously in this part of the world. Enjoy your break.

    • mawil1 says:

      It is! We are so lucky to have a holiday and I’m really grateful on so many levels😊 We’re just making the most of it whilst we can!

  6. I’m doing a week vacation too! The bike absolutely counts! I can see it clearly and it features the sea in the back!!! I don’t think I am not doing great with the vacation running … if I can go run all day I don’t do it at all, or maybe the gravitation changed? But I did experience my first DOMs … does that count?

    • The ‘not’ was not supposed to be in there … can’t even type when on vacation … oh Enjoy yourself 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      I think that the increased sunshine brings increased gravity!!!! I’m making do with walks, I can’t be doing with jigging in this heat! Better to enjoy a walk than grit your teeth through a run I guess.
      Glad the bike counts, now I feel like part of the club!😀😀

  7. Sounds so hot. Fitness as usual on holidays for me but definitely worked around temperatures and sleepins. Hope you have a good holiday!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! It’s taken years to learn how to manage the heat – like all Brits first instinct is to grab all that sunshine whilst you can, we just can’t believe that it will still be there this afternoon, tomorrow morning etc. So these days we are out in the morning ( pool to ourselves!) then doing siesta 12-3. If I worked in this kind of climate I think I’d be very dependant on air conditioning!

Leave a Reply

