New route

A whole week of packing and unpacking with no running needed to be rectified. I was a bit apprehensive about running straight out, we have moved deeper into rural Lancashire and there are more hills around here. View from back window;

image

View from the back window. We like.

So last night I got the map out. Although we live on a hill, the road runs along the side of the hill so it was possible to plot a route, 1.5 miles to the next village with only 40m of elevation.

So on Sunday morning off we went – yes I said we, my son came with me! We spotted a rusty machine and a wheelbarrow #rusty machine ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

There was actually more rusty stuff, corrugated sheds and whatever, but I decided not to take any more pictures. If word got out what would the neighbours think I was doing? And sheds aren’t machines.

Once we got to the next village, at my MAF HR, my son decided to show me who’s boss and sprint back to the house. The road was windy so every so often I would spot him up ahead and he would wave and run on. When I got back to the house he wasn’t here. He hadn’t recognised our house and had only realised when he reached the middle of the village that he’d ย gone straight past ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

It was good to get out and now I have a basic daily route I can continue with that. There are also trails going up onto the hills (400m high) which I hope to explore at the weekends.

So I’m happy. We have a lovely view to look at and a nice 5k running route. Mobile phone signal and wi fi are a bit dodgy and I need a new mindset for the food shop – no nipping to a major supermarket 5 minutes away that has everything you need/ want and more. There will be opportunities to buy locally produced meat and veg I think, I just need to work out when and where.

So despite the hassle of the move its OK. This village isn’t quite where we wanted to be, ( this is temporary) but should reduce our daily commute which is what we wanted. As it turns out, it’s a lovely place to be.

 

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, maps, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to New route

  1. Haha, I think it totally works, good job! And it’s great that you’re making the best of your move with finding a lovely running route! Sounds like you’re trading in some of the hustle and bustle of a bigger town which is super appealing!

    • Your view is gorgeous, by the way!

    • mawil1 says:

      We still aren’t far from town and only an hour or 90 minutes from Manchester. The small market towns out here actually offer more night life in terms of cafes and restaurants than the bigger town of Blackburn! We are very privileged to be out here with our lovely view! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. That looks soooo beautiful — & too funny about your son running past your house. Although what does it say about me that occasionally I drive past our turn and I’ve lived here 7 years?

    There weren’t many good grocery stores when we moved here, but since we moved, now there are quite a few & that makes me much happier.

    This is not where we plan to be forever, too, but this temporary move has lasted 7 years & no signs of moving anytime soon — not a bad thing, I suppose, it means my husband has a job!

    • mawil1 says:

      I know, sometimes you have to go with the flow! OR give time for things to unfold and it can be surprising what turns up! Often so many things change at once that you can lose sight of your original motivation/ problem but it works out ok anyway!

  3. Fantastic view! I just love green rolling hills. Cool rusty photos as well ๐Ÿ˜€
    Glad to hear you have a new route.

  4. So... says:

    It’s so pretty Julie. And the best part is you will have a changing scenery with the seasons.

  5. shazruns says:

    Oh that looks like an amazing place to live. New routes to explore and much standing in funny places to get a mobile signal, enjoy.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! The mobile signal is an eye opener. I went into Manchester on Saturday -4g what luxury!!

      • shazruns says:

        Three years in here and we have just got 3G trouble is Madam can now use it in the garden and school bus which means data does not last!

      • mawil1 says:

        My son acts as if the world has ended when the wi fi just stops working… We went for unlimited data but even where we were before it was no good for films or TV.our neighbours tell us that they went for the super fast broadband but it’s still patchy and unpredictable!

      • shazruns says:

        I feel your pain!

  6. CeeJayKay says:

    OH WOW! what a beautiful view!!! Funny that J ran past the house… that the exact kinda thing that C would do… i think its a boy thing… bless them!!!
    OH GOD do not TALK to me about wifi, broadband, 3g/4g… the bane of my life!
    LOVING the #spottedtherustything pics!!!! i need to go in search… at the moment, I’m hooked on #spottedthepokemon *lol*

    Doing a job for Pokemon and so thought id educate myself on the brand a little more as we have to reference this VR stuff on the pack… now… *sigh* I’m chasing Pokemon… my kid thinks I’m a LEGEND!!!! *LOL* My hubby just shakes his head…

  7. Gareth says:

    Awesome view plus rusty shit! Can it get better than this on a Monday morning :p Definitely go for the locally sourced food, there’s no comparison with supermarket stuff

  8. 50in50marathonquest says:

    Beautiful view, love the rolling hills of the English countryside…reminds me of my childhood days in Suffolk.

  9. Glad to hear that most things about the move are working out. Giggles that your son ran right past your house, that’s cute. The scenery looks lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mawil1 says:

      Even he saw the funny side! It is lovely, but unlike Taz in the UK you are never that far from an urban conurbation! So we can have the best of both๐Ÿ˜Š Or a bit of both at least!!

Leave a Reply

