Civic pride

Settling into our new home.

Done a couple of little jogs to the next village  which has been enjoyable, quiet, surfaced road, lovely views and solitude. The recent good weather has helped.

Today I needed to post a letter so I went the other way into the village. By the post box there were plaques on the wall declaring this to be the winner of ‘best hamlet in Lancashire ‘. Across the road was the telephone box complete with bunting and flagpole.

image

I didn’t check inside the phone box to see if there was a working pay phone. I suspect that there will be. The mobile signal is so poor –  what would people do in an emergency? But that is  by the by.

The real issue is have I got enough civic pride to live here? 😳

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Civic pride

  1. So... says:

    It’s such a pretty telephone box. They’ve disappeared since cell phones happened. Back then, I knew many telephone numbers by heart.
    My little girl’s school is 150 years old and they have one of those old pay phones where you drop a coin.
    Makes me nostalgic for a slower life.

    • mawil1 says:

      Lol! When I was at university there was one pay phone for about 20 rooms! So people didn’t phone much – we wrote letters😱😱😱😱 even to friends! Incredibly we’d arrange to meet by letter- I’m getting the train, meet me at the station on Saturday – and it worked !!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    oh how lovely!
    In our next village, the phone box is a ‘library’ or ‘swop box’ for books… its just fabulous…
    Enjoy J, enjoy x sound like this village life is beginning to suit you 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes I like being in the countryside. Having a ‘room with a view’ is great. Dave and I often sit there in an evening watching the sunset instead of watching TV! It’s much better for us😊

  3. Oh this sounds so wonderful 🙂 you seem to write much happier! Must be all the pride 😀

    • mawil1 says:

      Lol! I’m not really sure what I make of flagpoles and bunting! It looks pretty – just don’t want to be involved in the hanging of it😆

    • mawil1 says:

      I’m liking the location, there is less commuting, so saving time. I’m not sure about the civic pride I used to be more of an anti establishment rebel but since becoming a mother I get a bit more middle class twee every year😱😱😱

  4. I dread to think what I’d find if I entered a phone box here in Bolton!

    • mawil1 says:

      lol! I’ve worked in Bolton – I’ve got a pretty good idea!!!! 😆😆 like everywhere it depends just exactly where you are, every town has areas which are different to others😊

  5. Wow, and actual phone booth. You don’t see many of those anymore!

    Maybe poor signal is a good thing?

  6. oscardiamond says:

    I’m thinking Hot Fuzz and Midsummer Murders all ready! Don’t test the degree of civic pride by dropping some litter to see what happens. You could brush up your anti establishment credentials by hosting Against the Brexit Craziness coffee mornings on the weekend. Hope this timely advice has been helpful.

    • mawil1 says:

      Lol!!! Your cultural references may be spot on!!!! I wouldn’t dare to drop litter! Went for a longer run today – more Union jacks in the next village. But there are some lovely Italian restaurants and shops selling international wines and produce so I’m guessing that people are probeuropean at heart!

Leave a Reply

