The nick of Pendle

image

On Saturday I decided to treat myself to a long run. Well I decided and planned on Friday, trying to memorise a route on the map that would take me up onto the hills.

Although I woke early, there was a heavy mist outside and I thought it was off, but as the sun rise higher the mist burned off and by 9 am I was out.

Although I had tried to memorise the map (I didn’t want to carry it) it can be difficult at the best of times to recognise some public footpaths and I ran past my turn off up the hill. Undeterred to find myself in Pendleton, Β I decided to follow the road route and pick up the other end of the pathway at the Nick of Pendle.

It was fairly steep but enjoyable although walking up hill was taking my HR way above my MAF threshold. I passed the ski slope;

image

Then soon reached the zenith at the Nick of Pendle. At that point footpaths along the hills cross the road. I went to check the guide on the path, to see if it would take me over to Pendle hill ( for another day) and I saw the gravestone in the first picture. I didn’t know beforehand that it was there. How sad, but what a perfect spot for a pilot to be remembered, that high point with the views of the valleys around.

I turned westward and started downhill.

image

 

Progress downhill was rapid! However I got lost. Not badly lost, just when the path reached a farmhouse the way on was not clear and I encountered some boggy slurry type areas. So after a bit of up and down I found my way back to the road. Spotted a rusty machine!

image

By now MAF was out of the window. I was 5 miles down and had cow pee squelching out of my shoes with every step. I was ready for home!

in the final count, 5.75 miles, average HR 131 (aim 126) max 153. i was quite glad in the end that I wasn’t too far above my MAF Β for the average! Β So a rest day on Sunday then back to my flat, slow runs for the rest of the week!

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The nick of Pendle

  1. You live in such a lovely area (although cow pee definitely doesn’t sound so lovely).

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! I was loving it so much yesterday, out from the door and on the hills. I actually thought ( before I got lostπŸ˜†) that it was a dream come true to be living here. I was born and bred in the flat bit of the county, but somehow I just love being in the hills.

      • I actually grew up not far from where we live now, but all I wanted to do was get away . . . which I did for about 23 years, but then we got sucked back.

      • mawil1 says:

        I moved around a bit when I was younger and met my husband whose family , ironically was only from a few miles from mine! So we ended up back up north! But the US is so much bigger and so much variation in climate and amenities. In part ‘getting away’ is a state of mind. What are you looking to get away from and will distance make the difference? Some things you can escape no matter how far you go!

      • Hate the winter. Hate gray skies, hate the cold, hate the snow, hate how long it lasts.

        I loved living in TX & MD. Not that there weren’t problems there, either. For now it’s good that we’re here, as we’re somewhat close to my parents & they’re very elderly.

        Neither one of us likes it here though. And climate is a big part of it!

      • mawil1 says:

        It’s summer now so I’d forgotten about how miserable the winter can be! But when I’m a retired millionaire winters in OZ are going to be on my schedule!

      • My husband would like to be a snowbird (go south during the winter) but that’s hard with animals.

  2. oscardiamond says:

    This is seriously beautiful running country. I just looked up some the surrounding area. Wonderful! Any mystical rocks or structures? I’ll look it up in the nice big book I bought at Glastonbury and let you know. I’m sure it’s full of faeries and sprites and magical places.

    • mawil1 says:

      Pendle is famous for witches – they had witch trials and everything. ? 1665. I would suspect that because of that magical places were covered up or kept secret! I think that if you search for ‘the Lancashire witches’ there have been a couple of books written. I know that there’s a stone circle outside Lancaster ( a good 30 miles away). It’s just magical to be here on a beautiful dayπŸ™‚ I will share more as I explore!

  3. That headstone is touching. Obviously someone takes really good care of it as it doesn’t look like it’s from the ’40s. Cow pee… oh ewww. I would’ve been done too, lol! Great pictures, gorgeous place!! πŸ˜€

    • mawil1 says:

      What I found touching about the headstone is that the men weren’t local , they were from foreign countries but they died here. People remember that they came here to help us ( it’s a war memorial) and honour their memory.

  4. You went on an adventure run and it contained everything! Love the rusty machine – so cool to spot an object unsuspected πŸ™‚ hills are like air for me, glad you have some in your life now! It will be so much fun for you to be able to run them at MAF pace soon.

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    wow, what views!!! well done you… sounds like a fab uplifting run! Love the pics… rocking the #spotted thing πŸ™‚ Have a lovely week xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you, partly the sense of adventure was fun!

      • CeeJayKay says:

        yeaaah! gotta love an adventure! Wish i lived closer to you, we could meet for a little/long MAF run πŸ™‚

      • mawil1 says:

        We aren’t that far apart! Google maps says 2 hrs from Blackburn to Chesterfield ( though we go to Sheffield a bit and that can take 2hrs). We could meet in the middle! Do a fun run in Leeds or Sheffield – or Huddersfield! But I think if we want a lovely run in the hills one of us will need to do the 2 HR trek! It could be a Sunday day out!!!

      • CeeJayKay says:

        *lol* oh sh*t, i have just got my head around getting up at 08h00 and driving 6 miles to a parkrun… 2 hours? i dunno about that, i may need a nap first! πŸ˜‰

      • mawil1 says:

        πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† yes I like to get my zz at the weekend too! But if you are ever in the north west message me and we will go somewhere spectacular for a run😊

      • CeeJayKay says:

        DEFinitely!!!! i looked on the map yesterday, i didn’t realise you were that far North, i thought you were like just west of me…
        I CANNOT WAIT for this weekend, i have sleep prescribed! busy busy two weeks being had!

      • mawil1 says:

        Busy is great when you finish – especially if you have done something you are proud of! Have a chillin weekend! I’m hoping to do park run on Saturday (a little bit excited, can you believe it!)

      • CeeJayKay says:

        YAY!!!! really? thats fab Jules! i CAN believe it, your MOJO IS BACK BABES!!!! enjoy!

  6. pwhent says:

    Well done Julie. That sounds like a great day out. Some of my best runs have been when I have got lost. Training goes out the window and you just explore. How wonderful to come across the memorial those brave pilots….and what a place to be buried.

  7. Gareth says:

    Cow piss is actually good for the feet. Toughens ’em up doncha know lol

  8. Sounds and looks like a lovely place to run. Sometimes getting lost isn’t so bad.

Leave a Reply

