Parkrun

for the first time in a million years!

No PBπŸ˜” HR average 154( MAF 125!). It felt OK though. Quite a few walk breaks and it took me 39:59! Β I appear to be smiling at the finish line.

image

Btw I have my I phone shoved down my top, not very pert boobies as it appears!! Lol!!πŸ˜†

Now that I’ve done my 3months at MAF if I convert to 80:20 running I will need to do 4x5k at MAF to allow me to do Parkrun at the weekend. This needs some thinking/ research.

Was I disappointed not to get a PB? Deep down I was hoping for one. No. Not disappointed. I’ve gained so much from the Maffetone method. A PB will follow when the time is right.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, parkrun, running, slow run, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Parkrun

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    wooooo HOOOO! WELL DONE YOU!!!!! so stoked, sitting here smiling form ear to ear! You look like you are FLYING Jules!!!!!

  2. It’s always disappointing when we work so hard at something, but you’re right, when the time is right, I have no doubt that you’ll get that PB — and no doubt it will surprise you!

  3. shazruns says:

    So agree with your last sentence, a pb is there waiting and will jump when you least expect it!

  4. Indeed it will!! Good job!!

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    Haaaahahahaaahaaa!!!! Just zoomed into your pic (on my iphone)! You are funny!!!!

  6. oscardiamond says:

    Good action picture of a happy runner. Still can’t get my head around your Mafia method. I’d buy the book if I wasn’t already surrounded by them tottering in columns and threatening to collapse on me.

  7. So... says:

    You’re flying!!! Very glad that you found a method that keeps you running happy. It’s been a gradual progression so it’ll be a more solid base when you start breaking your own records. Nice to see the smiles.

    • mawil1 says:

      πŸ˜ƒ my form must have improved a bit with my slow running as yes they captured me with my feet off the ground, usually I do look like I’m doing a hunchy shuffle! I think not having a major goal like an event is good for me, just doingvwhat I can for fun is much better!

  8. Congrats πŸ˜€ I love it! I finally figured out how to do the 80/20 with my plan. Will be interesting to see how it works for you! Bet soon you’ll love the easy stuff πŸ˜€

    • mawil1 says:

      I love the easy stuff already!!!! Park run is probably a good place to do my 20% because honestly, I don’t think I’d push myself that hard on my own, and I understand forc80/20 to work the easy has to be really easy and the hard really hard!!

      • Yeah … I use stairs and hills, but still not getting it right. Sounds like Parkrun suits this well for you πŸ˜€ what was your ‘race’ strategy? Did you warm up?

      • mawil1 says:

        Race strategy?πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ turn up and get round! I had to do a bit of a jog from the car park because I could hear they’d started the announcements😊 I start at the back of the pack. I knew that I was hoping for a PB when I got a bit frustrated about how long it was taking to get over the start line after the horn went off! (All of 20s I expect) do you think a warm up helps?

      • I’m probably the wrong person to ask about race strategy πŸ˜€ I do know however that I need at least 15 minutes walking to start slow running and then another 10-15 to get into it. So yes, I think you’ll be faster under different circumstances, you just need to figure them out and I will be learning from it πŸ˜‚

      • mawil1 says:

        It’s about a 10 minute walk from the car park. I know what you mean about ‘getting into it’ it has occurred to me in the past that a warm up lap might be useful. I should try it instead of just thinking about it!

      • You shall perform a full experiment πŸ˜€ and document it!

      • mawil1 says:

        I will obey o great one!

      • Nothing … I can’t come up with a clever or funny response … sorry having a rest day :p

Leave a Reply

