Keep your mouth shut and your head down!

As I get older I find that this is good advice for life AND running! The recent  spate of warm weather and rain in the lovely countryside has led to lots of flying things: midgies  and buzzy ones. I don’t like either.  However I discovered another benefit to the Maffetone method the other night. If I need to open my mouth to breathe I’m going too fast and it’s aerobic so I try to keep my mouth shut!  This means I’m much less likely to inhale those little critters. If I keep my head down they stay out of my eyes and nose too!

image

This is our local reservoir where my son is learning to sail. I wasn’t running here but I just added a pretty picture to brighten up the blog!

running has been only OK this week. I had a rest day after my Parkrun speed session! Then ran on Tuesday and Thursday. Tuesday’s effort was so so, Thursday’s felt fantastic in comparison. I’d planned a longer, circular route which included a section of the A59 but when I got there I found that there was no footpath and the grass verge was shoulder high vegetation. It’s a busy fast road so I wasn’t running on the road so I turned back the way I came.

Just under 4 miles but it felt like the ‘tun’ bits  were longer than usual. Was the improvement due to the rest or was it the faster run at the weekend? I don’t know but I’m not planning another Parkrun this weekend, instead I’m looking for a week of consistent slow runs. Maybe another Parkrun next weekend.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, balance, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, Nutrition, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Stress, time management, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keep your mouth shut and your head down!

  1. Sometimes you need those slow easy runs for recovery and to renew your spirit. As far as I can see, you had a great week because you got out no matter what!! Well done!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes you are right, I would like to have done 4or5 runs which is possible with slow running, but 3 in a week isn’t bad actually so I can’t complain! Thank you!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    LOVE the pic!!! *lol* yah, running with the mouth shut does keep the critter cocktails out!!!

  3. shazruns says:

    I recently had a fly go up my nose and out my mouth, he was still alive and I was grossed out!

  4. There really often is just no rhyme or reason for good and bad runs. But the thought of knowing you’re going too fast by open mouth breathing kind of made me giggle!

Leave a Reply

