The Hill.

I’d really like to run along the hill I can see from outside my house. It looks free. I like to be alone on the top of a hill, to gaze far, far into the distance and know that I’m alone. In the same way a tall person might relish unfolding their body after an economy flight, somehow from a hill top you can unfold your mind, your ego, your presence, or whatever it is I don’t know,  but you can let it just occupy the space it wants to without being hemmed in by anyone else.

imageI have been studying the landscape and circling this hill like a predator.  As I driving around the area I’m checking out the hills, looking for paths roads and landmarks I’ve seen on the map.

A couple of weeks ago I went up to the eastern aspect  to the Nick of Pendle but the path didn’t run along the top and quickly came down the side back to the village. I’ve been studying the map and it looks like there’s a wall along the top but no path. If I want to do a circular route I’m going to have to go over the hill then run along  the other side to the nick of Pendle then over the hill again and back. I think I need to allow 3 hours for this so it has to be a weekend.

last weekend I did park run so I didn’t have time for the hill too. This weekend there’s the usual on the agenda, house work and chores, sorting out the boy. I’m pleased that we have found a non computer based pastime for him – sailing. It’s the only thing apart from computer games, tv and reading that he seems to have any enthusiasm for so I want to encourage him. Hence we were at sailing club on Friday night until the sun went down and I’d promised him Sunday afternoon also.

I suppose that in my head I had it that I would tackle the hill this weekend. Hubs is on call so it’s a weekend at home for us. After Saturday am chores however, I fell asleep in the afternoon! So no run, obviously tired! On Sunday I was dipping in and out of people’s blogs between housework.

First I popped into slow running girls blogiversary party. She has been such an inspiration to me, encouraging me to keep up my slow running. Then I caught up with Annie,the unsportywomencanrun who just keeps going and has achieved amazing results. I realised that in my head I was in danger of not going for a run because I didn’t have 3 hours to do my hill route. However, if I stopped reading blogs and drinking tea I did would have  time to do my usual 5 k – so I dropped everything and went IMMEDIATELY! It was lovely,  virtually no traffic and just the sound of the wind in the trees. Thank you Annie!

After that, I took joe to sailing club. It was however very windy with wind speeds of 35mph over the reservoir. We watched some of the senior members race but as a beginner Joe was advised to stay onshore today. So our visit cut short we came home – and I realised that I had time to go up the hill! Not to  do the circuit, but I reccied the paths on the western aspect ready for when I do.

Next week I’m looking forwards to doing the whole circuit on sunday😊

image

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, change, fitness, fun, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, maps, middle aged women, parkrun, positive mental attitude, running, sightseing, slow run, Stress, time management, Uncategorized, walking, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Hill.

  1. Shaz says:

    Looks and sounds lush. Well done from stepping away from those blogs and getting out there

  2. I don’t think I’d have to talk myself into many runs if I had such a beautiful place to run in! Looking forward to when you make it full circuit.

    • mawil1 says:

      Funnily enough it does still take a certain amount of talking to myself to get started! But with slow running taking the pain out of it and the beautiful surroundings once I’m out its a pleasure! I know that I’m so lucky to be here and in the UK we have public rights of way across much of the countryside. You just need a map to know where the paths are and to stay on the path😊

      • That’s interesting about the public rights of way. Here, if it’s private property, obviously you don’t. And many state parks you have to pay an entrance fee (and definitely the national parks!).

      • mawil1 says:

        National parks here you pay for parking , but if there’s a green dotted line ( a right of way) you can walk there. They date back 100s of years and some people can get quite snotty about not wanting people to walk over their land especially if they live in converted farm buildings and the path crossed their garden! Some deal with it by making the path really clear so that you won’t stray off it, others make the path as difficult as possible letting it get overgrown with thorny bushes etc!

      • It’s all very interesting!

  3. Good on your Julie, looks lovely. I hope you get to do the whole circuit!

  4. oscardiamond says:

    Your description of the hill suggests you see it as an adversary and something to be outwitted by cunning strategies. It’s clearly not making it easy for you to find an obvious path to the top. It looks mystical to me. It’s probably full of faeries and magical creatures.Best to take something with you to make an offering and propitiate them (I think that’s the right word but I’m too tired to look it up). Also you might look at Kafka’s The Castle. K, the ostensible land surveyor, tries to reach the castle on top of a hill to gain acknowledgement and validation. It’s one of the most wonderful books ever written although hardly anything happens. Its only connection to you is that it features a hill and your blog reminded me of Kafka. Hope this has been of some help in your quest to conquer the hill but somehow I doubt it.

    • mawil1 says:

      I havent read ‘the castle’ but it sounds like I might enjoy it! I’d be interested to know what kafka has to say about the quest for acknowledgement and validation🤔 !

Leave a Reply

