Blogging :important or not?

imageBeing 49 has been an interesting experience. I’ve had one of the strangest years of my life. People say that I should use the experience and learn from it. I’m sure that I will. Eventually. I’m trying๐Ÿ˜Š

One of the positives is that it takes the sting out of being 50! I wasn’t looking forwards to it, but when I see the back of 49 I hope to leave this odd blip behind.

So I’ve been thinking a bit about the second half of my life and how I would like it to be. I’m reading Steven covey’s 7 habits of highly effective people and one of the chapters touches on time management. He suggests looking at all the things you do and putting each activity into one of the following groups

1 urgent and important

2 not urgent but important

3 urgent but not important

4 not urgent and not important

So where do running and blogging go? He explains that group 2 are the activities you should prioritise ( but often don’t). He is an advocate of aerobic exercise and would count that as a group 2 activity.

group 4 is the stuff you could let go to make room for something more rewarding. So sitting on the sofa mindlessly watching whatever is on TV and eating ice cream is probably a group 4 activity. One could replace it with something in group 2 – going for a run maybe?

So where does blogging fit? I probably spend 3 or 4 hours per week doing this. It isn’t urgent, but is it important? If it isn’t important should I be doing something more fulfilling?

After some consideration I have added it to group 2 . Without my blogging friends I wouldn’t have had the encouragement to keep going and persist with my fitness journey or received the help or advice that I have. So it’s important for me๐Ÿ˜Š

which group would you put blogging in? Why? And do you have any group 4 activities you could let go?

Is seeing 50 as ‘halfway’ optimistic or pessimistic? I’m aiming for 98 and healthy!๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, blogging, change, fear, feminism, fitness, fun, habits, Inspiration, low intensity, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, reading, running, sensitive people, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Blogging :important or not?

  1. I like to add that blogging helps keep memories. So for me it’s like a photo album and journal, just public. It helps to reflect as well. Urgent? No. Important? Yes. Covey also talks about sharpening the saw in another book, if I want to write better I have to sharpen that saw, blogging wins again ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • mawil1 says:

      i agree, writing helps me to think sometimes too๐Ÿ˜Š Though maybe I should edit more! S the s is same book. He says its a quadrant 2 activity so there you go- blogging wins!๐Ÿ˜ฑ

  2. Definitely group 2 for blogging!! It’s like food for the soul! So when do you turn 50? Is a Happy Birthday in order, or did I accidentally miss a post? I think the second half of life is the perfect way to think of it! We can build and grow from the knowledge gained from the first half!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. So... says:

    Definitely 2. Blogging feeds running and vice versa for me. I have also made many blogger friends who have been encouraging and shared freely of their experience.

  4. myquietroar says:

    I’m voting for 2 as well! If it brings you happiness and makes you feel productive/satisfied than it definitely is important – but then I’m biased as I enjoy your posts and want you to keep blogging ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! Ive actually reduced the amount of TV I watch! It happened quite naturally when we moved house. Now I spend my evenings cooking( fewer ready meals), eating with family, running, reading, blogging and going to bed earlier!! All good stuff๐Ÿ˜Š

  5. 50in50marathonquest says:

    50 is only halfway and the glass can be refilled, we’re just getting started! Great optimistic post!

  6. CeeJayKay says:

    I love my blog… I love all of your blogs… i think our blog buddies ‘get us’ and it helps keep like minded people not only motivating each other, but inspiring, advising, commiserating and celebrating together.
    I think we need a blog birthday celebration!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Keep it all up J, its sounds like you have found your ‘good place’!
    XXX

  7. Blogging is definitely group 2 for me! I spend several hours a day on it (luckily I have that time). In some ways, it’s like exercise for the brain — running and fitness in general makes me feel good, reading and writing blogs does as well.

    I could, of course, be doing such important things as cleaning the house, but I am past the 50 mark and seriously, who ever said they were sorry they didn’t clean house more on their deathbed?

    But connect with like minded people all over the world — priceless!

  8. Blogging and creative stuff can always be put in as unimportant, but the opposite is true. Running and generally keeping fit has to be important, though I stick to trying to be trying to keep fit, I won’t even run for a bus, even with my bus pass.Television is generally unimportant. Cooking most important, as long as it’s fun, if it’s not go and get some fish and chips and run it off in the morning. Cake vital, especially on your birthday, but skip the candles: fire risk.Enjoy it.

    • mawil1 says:

      Everyone has their own priorities, it’s about what’s important to you. For you, not running! But creativity is your job so very important!!!

  9. Gareth says:

    Id definitely go a 2 – Like Sergei said its also about memories and it does help with motivation and support ofc!

  10. We are supposed to use Covey’s quadrant thingy at work. Blogging where does it fit? I’d put it in number 2 as well. The reason for this is the relationships I’ve formed through the blog and the odd random message from someone telling me I’ve encouraged them. It’s interesting to think about. I do enjoy your blog Julie and I love hearing your weekly story of fitness and health. As for turning 50, I loved it! Every decade birthday is a thing of wonder to me. I just get excited to turn over a new one and see what I can do with what I’ve still got ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Anie. One of the things I’m learning as I get older is that life can have some unexpected twists and making friends through blogging is one of them! Like you I have found it a positive expereince! As for growing older? There’s only one alternative – so I’d better find the positives and get with the programme!๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

  11. oscardiamond says:

    I’d say blogging is both urgent and important (unless you define urgent as only pertaining to serious mattrers like keeping safe, not letting the house be repossessed, taking due responsibility for looking after childrens’ health etc) I think too little weight is given to creative pursuits generally in terms of mental and emotional health and overall well being. I agree that blogging helps you to stop and think and formulate your thoughts and opinions.And bloggers on the whole like to connect with people like themselves. Possibly there’s not enough healthy dissent or disagreement.
    I’d also elevate eating ice cream and watching TV to a group 2 activity. Everything in moderation and where does fun fit in? As for reaching 50, I’d say there’s everything to play for! Look forward to it.

    • mawil1 says:

      I did wonder about the ice cream and tv! But group 2,activities are supposed to have long term benefits. I agree r&r is beneficial but which kind of r&r is the best? Watching random TVs, watching something that you have chosen with good company, going for a walk or writing a blog? A little bit of each I expect๐Ÿ˜Š
      Your oils like dissent in the blogging world? I think oeople are just cautious and polite when you can’t see the person you are talking to๐Ÿ˜Š

  12. Midlife Man says:

    Your blog writing is not urgent but I would say important if you like writing, use your blog as an outlet for creativity and enjoy connecting with like-minded people. Writing and being able to express yourself is an important skill in society and it diminishes if you don’t practice, like anything else. Writing is an art form for people who aren’t great artists, like me (meaning not especially good at music, painting, etc.). If you write, why not share it! 49 was an important year for me. I broke my leg playing soccer and had to face health adversity for the first time, and I started a graduate program, a big leap of faith…now I’m only a year away from finishing. So looking at 50 as halfway because it motivates you — nothing like realizing and you don’t have forever to get you moving!

Leave a Reply

