New MAF

image

# spotted the sheep – or did it spot me?

I’ve decided to increase my MAF heart rate. When I started it was 180 minus my age and I took off another 5 because I hadn’t been running for a few months which made it 126.

After 3 months at 126 I’m very comfortable but not running. If I count my steps I usually get about 8-10 sets of 8 before I have to walk to bring my HR down. Maffetone does say that you will improve more quickly if you are at the top of your aerobic threshold. I have been wondering if I need to continue with that extra 5 subtracted? Today I thought maybe not and I tried a heart rate of 131.

It was good. I was still able to run without mouth breathing, which I think means that it’s still easy aerobic running. What was really good though was that at this HR I could manage about 20 sets of 8 steps before needing to walk so it was much more like being out for a run with walking breaks rather than the other way around. So I’m going to aim for 131 all week.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New MAF

  1. Sounds good! Sheep!? So far I’ve seen sheep everywhere but on my runs lol!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    oh that sounds good J! yes, i was at 127, not easy to keep it there, i upped mine to 130 only because i could get a little more of a slow jog on and it seems easier to keep it there too… You’re a star at this girl! LOVE the sheep…
    Slow… i also thought that i hadn’t seen any sheep… then yesterday? et voila… there they were!

  3. Gareth says:

    Slow progress is still progress 🙂 As long as you’re happy just do whatever you wanna do (ooooh I feel a song coming on)

  4. Good job Julie!! You should be very happy with your progress! That’s awesome!

  5. Lol, sorry if I made it sound like you were complaining. I actually meant to say you *must* be very happy with your progress, not should. I think that was before morning tea, haha. ;D

  6. The MAF method does work. I started as a novice runner in April, and I was logging 16min miles, now I am just in the 12min miles. I also used the -5 so I am at 139. Which does still mean jogging and walking hills. My idea is to keep at 139 for a good 5 years, as I will be getting older but I will progress to be a zero and then +5. So instead of faffing on with my HR monitor settings each year, I am just going to leave it for a good while.

    • mawil1 says:

      It’s working for me too, maybe more slowly than for you- I’m not doing as many miles as I’d like! But I’m happy with going in the right direction.😊

Leave a Reply

