Glowing

This post is not for the faint hearted.

Its about sweating.

In particular about middle aged ladies sweating.

So if you have delicate sensibilities or you are young or male this blog post isn’t for you, swipe onto your next post now!

Go on! Scoot! I don’t want your mother on my doorstep!

My mother told me that ‘horses sweat, men perspire and women gently glow’. Thanks to the avoidance of any strenuous activity for most of my life plus the judicious use of antiperspirant I was a living example of this maxim – until I took up running.

I didn’t know that your face could sweat! I remember the surprise of being so sweaty and wondering if it was going to damage my complexion – would I turn permenantly red? Get lots of broken veins on me cheeks? One time I came home, licked my lips and found that there was dried salt on my skin. The medical Rolodex in my brain immediately flipped open at ‘cystic fibrosis’. As a medical student in the days before genetic testing we used to measure for salt levels in sweat to diagnose it. I flipped the Rolodex shut – obviously I didn’t have CF but it didn’t stop me from checking with blogging friends if dried salt on your face was normal!

More recently I’ve been experiencing a different kind of all over body sweating. Oh yeah! All over. It started about a year ago, not so bad. I wondered if we had left the heating on, was it a warm day etc. Then I thought it was stress, I was worrying about stuff whilst I was awake. Ironically it seemed to settle over the summer when I was having time out (and running regularly). So I’d forgotten about it, until this week. It’s been a bad week, every night waking up every couple of hours, hot and slicked all over in sweat.

It started last weekend and I immediately linked this change with my hedonistic activities😊 I’d had a lovely lunch with a friend-  carbs, alcohol and a missed long run. I’ve realised before that even a single glass of wine with dinner will mean that I wake in the night in a  hot sweat. No problem I thought, on Sunday. no more alcohol and I’ll sleep tonight, get up early to get back into running on Monday am. I did all that, but it didn’t help. Poor sleep meant that I was too tired to run, no running meant that I was still waking up 3 or 4 times in the night and feeling shattered.

image

So there is scientific evidence that regular exercise reduces hot flushes. Based on my inadvertent, retrospective study of 1 I think it may be so. Time for phase 2, lets see if regular running can stop it😆😆😆

so today, determined as I was I ran in the rain.

image

It was quite nice actually. Do you ever have one of those runs where your body feels upright, like its perfectly balanced over your feet? You just do the tippy toes and the rest just glides along on top? Do you ever have runs where you don’t? Where your body feels like a sack of spuds wobbling around and providing adverse momentum to the legs? Normally I have more of the second type but today it was the first. It’s a lovely feeling😊

I did a new route too #spotted the bicycle.

image

No, I don’t know either😊

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, low intensity, maffetone methid, Menopause, middle aged women, Motivation, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Glowing

  1. Ohmigosh, that bike! How hilarious! Glad you had such a great run!!

  2. You are spot on! Exorcise the symptoms! It works with pretty much everything else … I love the times when the legs just click and it’s all easy going 🙂
    The bike is the winner!!! How cool is that pic 😀

  3. Hot flush is way too nice a term, I call them the Hot Grips. This is because they come on and grip and throttle and hold you to ransom. I’ve found running after a night of hot flushes and sweats really hard of late but I guess it will pass. Nice to know I”m not the only one suffering 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Good to know that I’m not alone! But if you’re still suffering and I know that you’re way more regular in your running habits than I am then running alone won’t be the answer. I think that my next stop will be the herbalist😊

  4. Thankfully I don’t suffer much with hot flashes. I do get them, occasionally, off & on, but not to the point of waking up several times a night. I don’t drink — maybe that helps?

  5. shazruns says:

    I am fortunate enough to be able to run miles and exert myself fully and not get the red face, but I too am at ‘that age’ when I can go from freezing to 100 degrees in 30 seconds. Bloody hate it! Oh and don’t start me on the broken damp sleeping.
    Now please go knock on that door and ask WTF re the bike!

  6. oscardiamond says:

    Cursory research on the net does give evidence supporting exercise having a beneficial effect on hot flushes/flashes. But will it be compatible with your mafia method?

  7. My other has has had these for years. she plays tennis sometimes 3 times a week and is as fit as a fiddle. Runs younger people off the court. Nothing seems to lessen the symptoms without giving nasty side effects and believe me she’s tried quite a few. Hers start at the feet and work their way ups the body, like a tsunami. I think it an excellent idea to write about it, as it generates support and suggestions. It’s important to say that I cannot tell when my wife is having one, it just looks like her normal healthy glow. Keep on running.

    • mawil1 says:

      Your poor wife! I’m glad to hear that she’s so fit though. I’m coming to the conclusion, having heard from so many fit and healthy sufferers, that fit and healthy doesntbprevent it! However, this is good because it helps to manage expectations. I.e no need to get despondant if exercise doesn’t make the symptoms go away – it isn’t because I’m not doing enough exercise, it’s because it doesn’t work like that! Thanks for your reply Paul. 😊

Leave a Reply

