A tapas style blog.

A what?

Well, I was mulling over what to write my blog about this week and I had a couple of ideas but couldn’t decide which one to go with so I thought that I’d just give you a little taste of each one rather than going into great depth. So it’s a bit like tapas, where you just have little snack size portions of something but have a few of them to make up a meal.

So first up, running. I discovered a new feature on garmin connect today, it will show me my monthly mileage!

image

I love a nice graph! August isn’t quite finished yet so I think that last bar will go up a bit. I’m pleased with my consistency since starting the maffetone method. I’m not overly impressed with 7 miles per week, but hey ho it’s better than nothing!

No TV.

Seriously! It wasn’t intentional or a resolution or anything, it’s just evolved. Since we moved house, the best Ariel/reception isn’t in the room with the comfy chairs and so it’s become inconvenient to watch TV. Also we have lots of other things to do, I’m trying to get my runs in etc so we aren’t missing the TV much. We watched what we wanted of the olympics on i-player: we all sat down together at the weekend to watch a DVD last weekend and that’s all fine.  Good in fact😊

Random off the wall thought.

If you truly love or value an inanimate object does it become imbued with that energy, and can it transmit it? I got to thinking about this when I was reading about chocolaterunsjudy and her souvenir mugs and unsportywomencanrun about decluttering and giving items for charity. Sometimes an object brings us a great deal of joy, but for whatever reason we outgrow it either literally (!) or figuratively and we pass it on. So especially if it is something that is in good condition you hope that the object will bring joy to another person – can it take that energy with it?

Sometimes we recognise a ‘loved’ object – the patched up teddy bear for instance, who can resist an ‘aaah’ when they see it, knowing that the mismatched eyes wonky limbs and saggy stuffing represent adventures that have not gone well for ted, but ted was too loved to be discarded and replaced? When we say ‘aaah’ and smile, is that a little bit of that love being passed on? You probably wouldn’t adopt such a ted for your own though. How about your unloved, barely used items – do they get a second chance when teamed up with someone who needs them?

As students my friends and I used to shop in charity shops and I remember the joy of finding those mint condition items! One item I loved was a green suede jacket, circa 1965 which must have sat in someone’s wardrobe, unworn for 20 years. My friend spotted it first but it was too small for her so she passed it to me. I loved it’s retro look and bought it for £2. I wore it for years – eventually my husband (10 yrs later!) persuaded me to ditch it😔 It was worn out☺️

So very random thoughts-  Maybe I need to watch more TV😆😆😆!!

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A tapas style blog.

  1. My favorite kind of tapas 😀 *takes some bites* love the fact that you blame the slow running for your consistency. It’s exactly the same for me. *Grab another one* I didn’t have a TV for years. It’s liberating to not be under the influence of it. I still usually forget that we have one now. *Chew* Judy’s post and her mugs … I somehow made the connection to NLP and anchoring. The energy you mention reminds me again of it … Are you familiar with anchoring?

    • mawil1 says:

      Slow running is definitely linked to consistency. The difference is that you don’t skip a run because you ‘don’t feel like it’ because not having the energy physically or mentally isn’t an issue, you don’t need all that stressy ‘pushing’ energy you can have relaxing chill time instead! Not sitting down with the TV is like giving up snacks! It wasn’t really that much fun so once you’ve broken the habit you don’t miss it😊 I will need to google anchoring though😊😊

      • My simple version: if you are happy (ie runners high) do something like pinch a specific finger. Do it a coule of times. Then in times of need you can trigger that feeling again by pinching the finger. Like Pavlov’s dog that is salivating after hearing the bell.

      • mawil1 says:

        Yes I see what you mean. So attach happy memories to an object. We try to buy Christmas tree baubles on holidays😊 When we decorate the tree it doesn’t look cool, but we have allot of fun remembering the hols, which are generally happy times!

  2. Random thoughts are good!! No TV is good! We got rid of cable a few years ago, and while every once in awhile we miss a certain show, in the whole, we’re better off without it. We can still stream if we need to, 🙂

    Look at all those calories you burned for the year! What a great number! Super good job with your running too! You keep doing what you’re doing!! 😀

    • mawil1 says:

      Lol! I wasn’t sure what to make of the calories! I can assure you that I ate many many more!!!!! Imagine how many you have burnt in the last year with half marathons etc – masses more than my mile per day!

  3. Love your random thoughts!

    Unfortunately I enjoy shopping & love the “thrill” of the hunt (I think it’s genetic, in fairness to me). There’s a woman called Flylady — one of her rules for decluttering — do you have a use for it, or does it make you smile? Both are valid reasons to keep something, according to her.

    I would think others would consider my mugs to just be mugs, but to me, yes, they have great personal value. But they are still just things . . .

    • mawil1 says:

      I agree with the ‘does it make you smile’. I probably have some of the strangest momentoes! But I’m a bad shopper. Sometimes I buy clothes and then I find that I never have the right occasion to wear it, or it doesn’t go with anything or I just decide that it doesn’t suit me anyway and it sits there in the wardrobe baiting me! But recently we cleared out joes toy cupboard, we couldn’t keep everything but so many of those toys had such happy memories attached. But they had to go, hopefully to make new happy memories somewhere else😊

      • Everyone buys things they don’t end up wearing.

        I am really good at making outfits out of pieces I’ve bought at different times, though.

      • mawil1 says:

        True, and that’s the thing isn’t it, to decide whether to keep something that might come into its own later, or to let it go. Especially if your weight tends to fluctuate! The suitcase under the bed is my solution. Every so often I have a tidy up and all the no sure stuff goes in the suitcase. A few months later you see it all with fresh eyes!

  4. Random thoughts are great…Great mileage, have to love a graph. I’ve watched a bit more TV lately because we now have a smart TV and watch things on demand. It’s a novelty right now. As for inanimate objects…perhaps the energy comes from the memories they revive.

    • mawil1 says:

      I’d quite like a smart TV, I think you can avoid the habit of watching dross just because that’s what’s on at the time you want to watch! Of course you can record things to watch later which we used to do but sometimes it’s nice just to try something and Chanel surf😊

Leave a Reply

