Choices.

It’s a bank holiday Monday! Yay! I’ve caught up on my sleep, I’ve done my weekend chores and a few more, and spent time with the family. I have set aside Monday for me.๐Ÿ˜Ž

Currently I’m sitting in bed having a cup of tea and catching up with my blog ( having emerged victorious from a minor skirmish in ‘The Internet Wars – the battle for bandwidth’. The boy has engaged in some guerrilla tactics, sneaking around and putting devices into ‘airplane mode’)๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

I had planned for myself a trip into the city to do some shopping. Honestly I do need shoes. ย Some of my favourites are worn out with constant wear and I need to replace them. I also need running shoes and I have promised myself a new pair.

image

My old faves. Dirty and falling apart!

I did buy a new pair just after Christmas, they were to be my marathon shoes. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ When I bought them, the shop assistant advised me to buy a half size bigger than my normal size, and I ended up buying a half size bigger than my old trainers, which presumably were already a half size bigger but I hadn’t realised. Anyhow I think that they are too big. When I’m going for a longer run, I always choose my old shoes. Now they are getting holes in the side where my little toe is, partly rubbing from the inside, but partly due to abrasion from the outside from when I’m putting my feet into rocky places, y’know scrambling over dry stone walls or along a rocky trail. I suppose that when they are actually falling apart you need to replace them.

I do have some trail shoes which are tougher, but they aren’t so good on the road and even when I run off road I usually have a couple of miles on the road to do to get there so I tend to choose my faves. Maybe the ‘new’ shoes will come into their own in winter – I can wear them with some thick socks.

So do I take :

Option 1 – spend about 90 minutes/ 2 hours doing hair and make up transforming myself into a well groomed ‘woman who shops’. Then drive to Manchester to shop

option 2′ go for a bit of a run then quick shower, normal messy haired self, go to Manchester for a smaller trip to shop in the pm and risk being frustrated because I need time to look at EVERYtHiNG and think about it ย before I decide what to buy ( this is why I normally shop alone. I’m a nightmare)

option 3 go for a long run, then nip into the local town where I have noticed there is an ‘up and running’ to get some new running shoes

image

It looks like we are being invaded by clouds!

I opted for 2. Reminding myself that if you haven’t got time to do the long run you said you wanted to, it’s better to stop procrastinating and do a short one instead then at least you achieve something. Actually by the time I got back the sun was out and I wished I’d ย gone for the long run! ย But I went to the shops as decided -I had been looking forwards to it for a while. Sure enough, It was pleasant but I didn’t find any great shoes!

I still have my trip to the running shop to look forwards toโ˜บ๏ธ

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Choices.

  1. I know what you mean with having to run across roads to get to the trails … always a compromise. Curious what shoes you get.

  2. The boy is smart!! Almost genius even! I would’ve never thought to put other devices into airplane mode!!

    If it makes you feel any better, maybe, (probably not), I get my running shoes 1 full size larger. My feet are swollen by the time I’ve completed 13 miles and I get blisters if the shoes aren’t a full size larger. (Once I blistered so bad during a hot race in 2014 wearing 1/2-size up as opposed to a full size, that my little-toe nail lifted completely out and off the nail bed).

    We all like new running shoes!! Do share when you get them!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. So... says:

    Smart boy there. ๐Ÿ˜„
    And smarter mom. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  4. Gareth says:

    3 no 2 no 3. Ummm 3! Nice cloud formations =)

  5. That little tear will turn into floods on the day you cross the marathon finish line. Don’t give up Julie, you’ll do it one day xxx

Leave a Reply

