Winter plan.

I’m getting cheery Facebook messages from friends who emigrated to Australia-  ‘ the first day of Spring’ whilst in the northern hemisphere the nights are starting to draw in. I’ve noticed.

These narrow country lanes require you to step into the verge of a car comes and are completely unlit.

image

I don’t think that it is safe to be running here after dark so I’m planning my winter fitness strategy.

The options are

1. Our lovely old faithful rowing machine. Even though it sat neglected in the garage for a couple of years it has really come into its own. Now that I have discovered podcasts I can address the boredom issue too  – I’m realy enjoying the ‘primal endurance’ series.

2 Join the staff gym. Yes my workplace has a staff gym! Rumour has it that it’s no frills- but all I need is a treadmill and a shower – for £6 per month. What’s not to like?  Being able to use a treadmill and run on the flat at a steady pace will probably be good for my MAF training too. Finding out more is on my to do list for next week.

3 Get a daylight run in every weekend. I really enjoyed some of my long runs last winter-  in the snow! (was that really me lol!).

4 Not to forget that there is the option to drive somewhere to go for a run- not my normal routine but it’s an option to prevent boredom!

5 buy some flashy light stuff to wear ( not keen on this one. By the time the driver has thought ‘what on earth is that?’ I’ll be splattered)

So overall there’s a lot to look forwards to over Winter. I’m feeling really positive about it and instead of thinking of ‘hibernation’ I have an image in my head of ‘pupation’. I will be in my winter chrysalis plugging away at my consistent slow runs only to emerge in the springtime as a butterfly  with a fantastic aerobic base lol!!😆😆😆!

Do you have a winter plan?

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, fitness, fun, gore mythos running tights, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, Nutrition, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, stats geek, time management, training plan, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Winter plan.

  1. Ive been thinking about the shortening days too! I ran every day in February and March this year and it wasn’t much fun plodding along in the dark. I do have flashing arm band thingies which helps with being seen. As I head into Winter this year my runs are a lot longer- both time and distance-wise and I’m thinking about the running machine option to avoid four hours of lonely slogging through darkness.

    • mawil1 says:

      I did ok Jan/ Feb as I lived somewhere with street lamps and pavements! I had a nice 4 mile loop I could do – twice if I needed a long run! I never thought that I’d feel nostalgic for the town! But I think the treadmill might have some benefits to offer for a short while at least😊 Four hours is a long time- also I wouldn’t wear earphones outside on the road so boredom could be an issue!

  2. I’m hoping that if I ignore it and have no plan winter might not arrive …

    • mawil1 says:

      Hard to ignore when you find yourself running home in the dark! Hasnt it hit you yet as an early as an early morning runner (I know that you get up really early!!)

      • I can get up later to catch the sun, so this is positive 🙂 rwally looking forward to seeing the dawn, but tbh the rain today stopped me and I’m feeling the change … just still trying to ignore it!

      • mawil1 says:

        Lol! Chucking it down here too! Doing my weekend chores first in the hope of it brightening up later, but if not I’ll just have to get out in it😊 I don’t mind it once I’m started😀

      • Chores … Plans … I better hide behind another cup of coffee and watch your space!

      • mawil1 says:

        Lol all part of my recovery programne😆😆 doing all this planning so that I have plenty of time to do all that relaxing stuff😆😆😆 I sometimes wonder if I’ve got it quite right….

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    I like running in winter… i don’t mind the dark at all, but then i live between town and the farms so i have the best of both worlds… but yes i spend more time on the treadmill…
    Starting work when sparrows fart and getting home at 15h00 works a charm for me…
    But sheesh that road IS a bit narrow! just take care!!!! i think the work gym sounds like a fair deal!

    • mawil1 says:

      I don’t mind the dark, well actually I like to see where I’m going so I guess that I do! And I don’t want to get splattered by a car (main concern😊). So yup I’m getting my playlists and podcasts ready for those machines! Will my garmin still record the distance though? I’ll be gutted if I can’t get any pace/distance data, I love my numbers!!!!!

  4. shazruns says:

    Oh I’ve noticed all them down under spouting about Spring and I’ve tried not to mind, but it’s hard.
    Same here with narrow lanes. I have a head torch but need a brighter one. One that shines like a lighthouse but considerably lighter! I tend to get a bit disorientated when it’s dark, running with a head torch means you just look at one spot on the road.
    No gym for me, but have a rowing machine and I like your idea of the podcast off to research that.
    My plans will mainly include lunch time runs! Not often I miss the city but was easier to winter run there.

    • mawil1 says:

      I have been reminded of Cornwall since we’ve been here, in places there are banks on the sides of the roads with a tall hedge on top and not enough room for cars to pass – scary enough in a car! I like the TED talks on you tube too- some really interesting topics!

  5. I like your fabulous description of emerging in the springtime a beautiful butterfly! What a great way to think about it! I say go for the gym and treadmill! Those tiny roads don’t look very safe, unless you’re lit up like a Christmas tree! 🙂

Leave a Reply

