A usual kind of week.

image

I should be running now but instead I’m taking the Maffetone method to its limit and I’m resting! I finished work a bit early, had a 90 minute gap before I do the school run but I’ve frittered an hour away eating lunch and whinging on Facebook about Finding mince pies, Christmas cakes and puddings in the supermarket last night! So with only 30 minutes left I’ve decided to (continue to) chill with a cup of tea and tap a few words for the blog.

The photo is from Monday’s rainy run- just a hint of a rainbow! Lovely run I’m enjoying the cooler weather.

Tuesday I had a jaunt to London. Left the house at 5 am for a 6 hour journey each way. For a 2 hour work commitment. Did some useful reading on the train. At first it felt good to be in my smart clothes and high heels with all the other smart important people going to the city. 8 hours later with a run in my tights and sore feet I abandoned any ideas of sightseeing or shopping and got the train home☺️ It’s taken me 2 days to catch up/recover! But it’s a very useful and timely reminder to be wary of the rat race, I’m not a rat after all😊😊 but next time I need to do something like that I will take my friend’s advice and slip my flip flops into my handbag!

image

So no run for 3 days😳 I’m hoping to do some long slow runs over the weekend to catch up a bit.

Blogging is a bit frustrating at the moment as this keeps flashing up every time I click a button

image

Frustrating because I use WordPress as a cloud based app, not stored on my phone Β it’s frustrating because when I click ‘cancel’ it keeps popping up again and again Β Has anyone else had this?

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A usual kind of week.

  1. Why not just use the browser?

  2. Gareth says:

    10Mb aint much at all I wouldnt worry about it. Is it xmas in the shops already? =(

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    ditto! i had three days of hecticness… no running, but had a FAB parkrun Nordic Walk this morning… next week to London for me too grrrrr, I’m so over this corporate shite! *lol* i just wanna be a stay at home mummy, cook, garden and go for runs when i feel like it….
    Have a fab weekend Juliekins xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      You have a fab weekend too cee jay😘 But the weeks make the weekends all the sweeter ( positive thinking!) as for corporate life – we just need the right shoes!!!πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

      • CeeJayKay says:

        OOOOh yes!!! the right SHOES!

      • mawil1 says:

        πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† there’s a pair of shoes for everything…..!πŸ˜†

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Just SUCH a sad waste spending on corporate shoes really, when we could be spending on running shoes! πŸ˜‚

      • mawil1 says:

        πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† I’ve been making the transition from heels to flats over the last year for work. Summer was ok – ballet flats look OK with most things. But I’ve kept a couple of pairs of heels ( not mega high) for those dress to impress occasions. I know that you wear your trainers- TBH there’s nothing stopping me from doing the same apart from convention! I saw some great ‘dress up’ trainers in silver gold , glossy patent. MmmπŸ€” They would look smart enough with wide legged trousers and a jacket. Maybe it’s time to re vamp my style …and break a few ‘rules’πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Just do it! 😎 I have fab antiqued gold FitFlop trainers that I wear… Or my mermaid Vans…
        Omg I have killer heels that I LOVE… But I do curse and end up carrying them at the end of an evening… For meetings with clients or briefings/presentations I do platforms if I have to or yeah it’s take me as I am trainers, leggings and all!!!! They’ve got used to it…

      • mawil1 says:

        😊😊 I’m soon to be over 50 – I think that means I can start breaking lots of rules! When I am old I shall wear purple and all that ! I think I’m going to be eccentric in my old age. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

  4. I’ve never seen that pop-up message (thankfully) in 1.5 years of blogging. Do you use a laptop or ipad or mobile device ? If the latter, that might explain it.

  5. Love that rainbow picture! πŸ˜€ Are you still a practicing surgeon? I can’t imagine being on a train for 12 hours. Wow, talk about boring, lol!

    • mawil1 says:

      Lol yes I’m still a practicing surgeon! I do a bit of work for the Royal college of surgeons hence the day out! Normally they don’t ask you to travel more than 200 miles but this was an exception😊 Short staff due to holidays etc. It wasn’t all on the train – I had to drive, change trains a couple of times for variety! But I read a book and daydreamed a bitπŸ˜†πŸ˜† I suppose that I didn’t realise when I agreed to it that it was just that bit further away than London and I would spend the next couple of days catching up with all the work I had missed, chores at home etc. It’s always the running that gets sacrificed!

      • Okay, I was just checking to see if you were turning corporate or not, haha (not that it would matter, I was more curious, :D)! It seems that the running always gets cut from the schedule when we get ultra-busy, but I guess that’s just life. Of course, there also have been times when everyone has had to be on their own for dinner and such as I was outta there, lol!!

      • mawil1 says:

        Yes I’ve done that dinner thing too- but usually they say please go in an attempt to resolve my crabbiness!

Leave a Reply

