Over the hill.

Finally made it. Not metaphorically, neither physically or mentally, (thank you Gareth at blue green gold grey –  Who attributes my disinterest in rock hopping in the dark to mental ageing 😂 ‘wisdom’ is what it’s known as to us long term survivors). But no, this is literal, I finally made it over the hill I can see from my front door😊

image

This is the top of the hill, taken a few weeks ago.

image

The other side of the hill. Nice trail!

So I walk/ran to the nick of Pendle then downhill back down the road. Just 5.5 miles, a nice route now that I have worked it out.

My next goal – to find the highwayman’s grave. It’s on the map so I should be able to find it if it’s marked !

why is a ‘highway man’ so much more interesting than a mugger?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, fun, habits, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, maps, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Stress, surgery, time management, training plan, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Over the hill.

  1. shazruns says:

    Congrats on conquering the hill! It looks like a beautiful route.

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    wow soooo KEWL! 😉 and yah! how is THAT right on your doorstep! its PERFECT! WELL DONE!!!! enjoy!

  3. I had no idea where the Nock o’ Pendle was, until I looked it up and found this cycling link http://cyclinguphill.com/nick-o-pendle/ (which has an embedded OS map). It looks like you have quite a few paths and a reservoir to explore around there. I’m quite jealous!

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes I understand that it’s a strava segment and a popular challenge! There are a few reservoirs in these parts, I’ve seen one driving over the hills a couple of miles away which looks like it would be a good route, I just need to find it on the map!

      • If I were you I’d have the local OS map laid out in front of me and I’d be scouring it for the best (offroad) routes. 🙂

      • mawil1 says:

        I have- we are on the edge of 2 maps and I have them both😊 But as I get out more and find more landmarks to relate to the map it gets easier. I usually memorise my route before I go so that I don’t have to carry anything – which can be interesting! That’s why I like a bit of open ended time if I’m ‘exploring’. I did buy a small rucksack that you can put a fluid reservoir in for when I’m up to long runs ie 10 miles or more, but haven’t got there yet!

  4. Gareth says:

    Looks fantastic! I wasnt implying disinterest more questioning the worth of sanity :p Highwaymen ride horsies and muggers do not!

    • mawil1 says:

      I agree that sanity is over rated😝 Re the horses- well the police cash in on the horse thing too, using mounted police for crowd control, people are always nice to the animals!

  5. looks like a wonderfull place to potter about

  6. Wow, looks so lovely. Well done x

  7. So beautiful! Congrats & great job!

    And “just 5.5 miles”. That would kill Mr. Judy! Use it or lose it, and he’s losing it — I wish I could make him see that & get him inspired to be more active.

  8. oscardiamond says:

    Highwaymen are more upmarket and musical (Adam Ant’s Stand and Deliver). I’m more worried about you running into the Faery Folk and risking bewichment.

    • mawil1 says:

      Ha ha! Some people already think I’m a witch! Apparently the highway mans grave was originally a Bronze Age burial chamber – more on that later😊 As for Adam ant – he was from Preston I think, maybe influenced by local history😊

Leave a Reply

