Weekly round up

Good run Sunday

Too busy monday

Rowed on Tuesday. Thunderstorms outside

Read instead of running on wednesday😳 Had planned to run but got sidetracked. I was just skimming a book that I wanted my son to read and got sucked into it for an hour!

Thursday – what a day! Drank wine instead of going for a run.

Friday- apathy attack

Saturday – woke up to find my housework mojo had come to visit😱 Was a domestic goddess from dawn to dusk. It was worth it though –  an untidy house is a major cause of apathy for me, an organised house is releasing😊

Sunday. Super run! A beautiful day so I decided to go on adventure and seek out the highwayman’s grave. I tried to persuade my 12 year old to come with me, I thought that it might spark his imagination, but he felt a greater need to answer the ‘call of duty’🤔😬

image

There it is on the map, the ‘Jeppe knave grave’. As you can see there is no path there, so I followed the trail from last week ( green dotted line) and looked for the wall that crossed the path ( next to the number 223). I ‘yomped’ up the hill until I got to where the 2 walls joined just next to the trig point. It was very rough terrain, hissocky and boggy. I had planned on trying to climb over the wall, but to my surprise there was this;

image

Gates and stiles to get over the walls! So although no path, officially, obviously it is accepted that people regularly walk there.

This was the grave

image

I think that’s a sheep-y shadow creeping in there.

image

A view of of the whole thing.

So I have googled and there are lots of interesting things to share about this, so I’ll just whet your appetite, there’s lots more ont’net if you want it.

Jeppe is old English for Jeffrey. Jeffrey Curtis was a highwayman who was beheaded for his crimes, (in 1327) unusual in that normally only noble folk were beheaded the common classes were usually hanged. The burial site itself is actually a Neolithic/ Bronze Age structure, and there is some speculation as to why his body was buried here.

From here I found that there is in fact a path that runs along the ridge of the hill. I walked a lot as it kept my HR at MAF threshold, then eventually jogged the downhill bits at the end. 7.3 miles in total.

image

A nice sheep tableaux just to finish off with.😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, Local history, low intensity, maffetone methid, maps, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, sightseing, slow run, time management, travel, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly round up

  1. What fun history! All the way back to 1300s! Great adventure! 🙂

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    SO KEWL! i think that sounds like the perfect week with the perfect ending!!! #spottdthesheep !!!!! love the bit of history, i think i may need to consult with you on how to read those OS maps, i aint got a clue! *lol* I’m like ‘all the gear, no idea’… we have the maps in our backpack, but if we needed them i would have a clue how to get started! thinking i may just invest in a GPS thingy… *lol*

    • mawil1 says:

      😆😆😆 I think Sunday made up for the rest of the week! I love maps- I think it’s genetic because joe really gets them too and is a natural at orienteering! Have you trianded the OS app? If you download a map of your fave place, it shows where you are and what direction you are pointing in with a littl red arrow. Cute little pictures and symbols! You’d love it!

  3. Sounds like the perfect week to me! Such a great adventure as well 🙂 I love running downhills! Sheep envy is growing …

    • mawil1 says:

      If I hadn’t had such a good day out on Sunday the week would have left me miffed. As it is, Sunday was great and really lifted my spirits😃 Sheep are everywhere! Can’t get them out of the bleeding pictures!

  4. Gareth says:

    Sheeep! Everyone more sheep! Let Sergeis envy grow! Sounds like one of those weeks that just “happen” organically – Cant plan for them. Sounded fun tho (especially the wine)

    • mawil1 says:

      The weekend made up for a lacklustre week on the running front! But not good for the consistency I’m aiming for! Poor Sergei- maybe she needs a sheep oriented holiday!

  5. God, you live in such lovely country. Very interesting info on the highwayman!

    • mawil1 says:

      I do love our British scenery! However one day I hope to spend some time in the US traveling through wonderful places like Yosemite, tha Appalachians, visiting the Grand Canyon and seeing the salt plains! Hopefully wrote I get too okd😌😌

    • mawil1 says:

      I love the English countryside, but one day I hope to visit the US and take in the anazing scenery, the Pacific Ocean, Golden Gate Bridge, Yosemite, salt lake, Grand Canyon , Appalachians newcengland fall- sigh… At keast in this modern age i know what I’m missing!

  6. shazruns says:

    What a lovely adventure

  7. oscardiamond says:

    Beautiful running /walking country. Possibly a tad lonely. Did you see many people on your route?

    • mawil1 says:

      I wasn’t lonely I loved it! But it did occur to me that if I fell down a deep dark hole no one would ever find me. Strangely I felt perfectly safe, in a way one doesnt in a city. There were lots of people at the ‘nick’ where the road crosses the hill where there’s a car park. 5 minutes and you can be on top of a hill flying a kite😌

Leave a Reply

