When running is great.

Running is great when the sky is blue and you are on top of a hill full of blonde grass. You can see for miles but you can’t see anyone. Or hear anyone. You wonder if you should shout or sing on the top of your voice, just because you can.

image

Running is great when you are running down a hill on a rocky trail, and somehow you get your foot in the right place each time, no slips or trips, no unstable rocks. You pick your feet up higher automatically, but you can do it and it’s OK.

Running is great when a slight uphill turns to a slight downhill and your whole body unfolds. Your neck stretches up, your shoulder blades slip down your back and even your hips seem looser and lift up.

Running is great when you are tippy toeing up hill and the crest of the hill very slowly moves from your hairline, to eye level, to your nose, your chin, your chest and eventually under your feet.

Running is great when you’ve been out for 2 hours and you still feel fresh.

running is great because you can and you are running.๐Ÿ˜Š

 

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fear, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, hills, holidays, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, map my run, maps, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, sightseing, slow run, Stress, stretching, time management, travel, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to When running is great.

  1. Darlene says:

    What beautiful pictures. Yes, running is great if you can run. It’s a gift.

  2. Like I was there with you ๐Ÿ™‚ it is such a great feeling! How well described.

  3. A lovely post Julie, You say it all so well. xxx

  4. How could anyone not enjoy running in the photo

  5. Gareth says:

    Lovely post! And I have hill envy – Love the wild look of the moorland

  6. So... says:

    Poetic! Lovely post Julie

  7. oscardiamond says:

    Clearly the Faery Folk are massively enhancing your running experience. I’m envious. Give me the co-ordinates of the route immediately!

  8. Lovely picture. You can’t beat the moors.

Leave a Reply

