Home.

Last week was the opposite of MAF. No running for six days, 3days of lovely Italian bread, prosecco and Chianti – the only thing that was in keeping with MAF was the rest and lack of stress!

I had good intentions. But we’d already paid for breakfast and when you see those beautiful little pastries gently filled with vanilla custard how could you reject them?

It didn’t seem quite right to scrape my florentine egg off its bread base….

image

Mmmm.😋

So I gained 5lb in 4 days. I mean seriously, how, when it took 6 months to lose!😆😆😆

No panic going on though. I think it’s mainly fluid- my glycogen stores will be packed with all those carbs and that means that my muscles will hold more fluid. My body fat% has dipped with the weight gain ( not gone up) so I think that it’s all to do with fluid.

No excuse for not running today then, rain or no rain it was time to go out and Stoke the fires of my metabolism. A 5k ‘reintroduction’ to running. I didn’t take my phone/ camera because it was raining when I set out, which was a shame, as when the clouds cleared there was a lovely sunset which illuminated everything in rose gold.

Maybe I’ll get a picture next time😊

Happy running everyone, no matter why you run, fast or slow, old or young,  please enjoy☺️ That’s what really matters.

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, feminism, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, hills, holidays, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, muscle building, Nutrition, positive mental attitude, running, sightseing, slow run, Stress, time management, training plan, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Home.

  1. Let’s call it tapering and carb loading 😀

  2. Gareth says:

    I call that ephemeral weight, happens every weekend with me 😉 Just disappears by tuesday!

  3. Sometimes it’s important to just enjoy. I was away about the same amount of time, but thankfully my gain wasn’t as much. But I am also facing a much longer vacation very, very soon and it will be tougher to eat healthy.

    This time we rented a house, so I was able to have some healthy food with me. We’ll be in hotels for most of the next one, and that makes it a lot harder!

    No doubt a lot of yours is also due to the sodium in restaurant food — I usually blow up with that!

    • mawil1 says:

      Funnily enough it did all drop off after about 2 days! Like you say, probably sodium/ fluid retention 😊 Glad it went though!

      • Not surprised. Happy it worked out that way! I will no doubt gain weight on my next vacation, it’s much longer and I need my carbs to run that half (in moderation, anyway!).

      • mawil1 says:

        I’m happy too! But I think that you have to enjoy your holidays! Not be silly or go mad, but have the things you want and enjoy them😊 Like you say you need to load up your glycogen reserves😊 Enjoy your vacation!

Leave a Reply

