A nice day.

imageSometimes things just all go right!

I was due for a run on Wednesday. I finished work on time, did school pick up, got home, got into running kit, but decided to pop out (in the car) for some milk before running. When I got back it was dark. We moved here in the summer and back then the country lanes were quaint. In the dark they are death traps, no pavement, no streetlight, only room for one car and few passing places.

I pondered my options.

driving to a town for a run? Buying a treadmill?

The next day I decided to do something positive about it and I put my running kit in the car. I didn’t need to do school run after work, so I thought maybe I could run around the hospital before going home, at least there are big streets with pavements and lights! Thursday is one of my operating days so I even took my kit into the changing room and put it into my locker, so I could change straight into it from scrubs.

in the coffee room I asked if anybody could recommend any good routes. ‘We are going for a run tonight – come with us’ I demurred politely – knowing that whenever I have tried to run with other people I am always way slower. But I was persuaded as the people who were running hadn’t run for a while and were picking it back up.

And so we went! Yes there was a big hill which we mainly walked up , and it rained heavily at times. But the views from the top of the hill were great and there were lots of rainbows!

It wasn’t good for my maffetone method as my average HR was 144 and I’m aiming for a max of 130, but I enjoyed it😊 This evening I’m tired though (exhausted!) and going to bed early!

My colleagues said that they enjoyed it too and so we are planning to do it again next week. I’m looking forwards to it- I just need to get my 80% of aerobic running in before then!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, blogging, change, CLOTHING, fitness, fun, habits, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, novice, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, surgery, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A nice day.

  1. oooo running with friends and having fun! Go Julie!!!

  2. That sounds super fantastic, pretty much like a runner jackpot! Any plans where to get your 80% fix?

    • mawil1 says:

      Still mulling it over. LSR on Sunday in daylight, can do 5 or 6 miles then, ditto Saturday, but really need to spread it more through the week. I’ve been looking at treadmills, you can get one for as little as Β£200 but they only go up to 10kph, which for me for LSR is probably good enough. I wonder if it’s a ‘false economy’ will it be robust enough? Have you any experience with them? Also there is where to put it, which is what I need to work on hubs about, he doesn’t think that there is room…..

      • I have no experience with treadmills. Would love to get a bike trainer thing, but there is no space! You did have a treadmill near or at work didn’t you? Could work as a test maybe. 10k per hour is quite a pace! You could also spread it out? I run easy nearly every day and started with 20 minutes. If I run slow and really easy it is not as straining and I don’t feel like I need recovery the day after …

      • mawil1 says:

        I can’t actually run at 10kph! I just live in hope…..! We used to have gym membership where we lived before so I’ve used the treadmills there, and I was thinking about joining the staff gym but the problem is the time. My workdays are full of work and bookended by doing the school run except for one night/ morning per week so I don’t think I’d be able to use it. Having a treadmill at home would be better because I could use it while Joe is doing his homework or whatever, no travel time and a cheap one is a lot cheaper than membership fees at one of the local gyms! But you are right about the spreading it out thing, I don’t want to end up doing all my miles at the weekend – it’s much better for fitness and recovery to do less 4 or 5 x per week. I’m talking myself into the treadmill. I need to do some work on hubs…….

      • Yes! You seem to have made decision now all you have to do is get him to have the idea… Bummer your birthday is already gone…

      • mawil1 says:

        I think that I did mention it but it was rebuffed. Might be too late to make him think it was his idea, but you are right I should have thought of that. Mmmm obviously gone about this all the wrong way! But I could put it in the spare room and he wouldn’t notice (until he heard me running on it.)

      • I like your thinking!

  3. Gorgeous rainbow! Glad you had a great time!!

  4. shazruns says:

    Oh know what you mean about country lanes. Four years on, three head torches later I think I will get out more on them this year but is not my fav type of running. I would much prefer a run with friends that contained rain and rainbows.

    • mawil1 says:

      I have a head torch I could re visit. I suppose that it doesn’t say much for my driving, but going down these lanes, even when people have lots of lights on, in the dark you are trying to work out ‘what it is’ glowing up ahead and I can just imagine how easy it would be to come around one of those blind corners, not understand what you are seeing and run into it before you have time to think. Even running with friends we will need to find a well lit route! But it does feel safer at night.

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    I had a treadmill at home it was the best thing in my life!

    • mawil1 says:

      Past tense? What happened? I’m getting seriously sold on this. I think there’s room in the guest bedroom. Having guests next week, can I resist the temptation to impulse buy today…..

      • CeeJayKay says:

        I had Roger for about 18 months… I named it Roger because it was a Roger Black Gold model πŸ™‚
        We think it got damp being out in the garage, when we brought it in, it started acting up… then one day it ‘caught fire’ there was an electrical fault while i was running…. it went up in smoke… never has the loss of a gadget upset me so… it was the SINGLE best thing in my life, i miss it terribly!!!! you didn’t have to get dressed to go out, i could just run in my jimjams if i wanted, any time of the day or night… Do it Jules, it will change your life. i LOVE running on a treadmill… could be because that is where i learnt to run, i was too shy to get out on the roads, so Roger became my best friend… i STILL love going an totally zoning out on the treadmill… its like meditation for me!

      • mawil1 says:

        Of course! I remember you writing about roger! I’m going for a cheap model though but it says fold away. Hubs is out for a few hours – I can do Argos click and collect and have it before he gets back… Will I be able to get it upstairs πŸ€” Mmm it’s looking possible … Tape measure next stop.

      • CeeJayKay says:

        if its from Argos it may be flat packed, ask the delivery man to help you *winks*

      • mawil1 says:

        Failed the tape measure test for spare roomπŸ˜”πŸ€” looks like I’m going to have to clear space in the garage!πŸ˜ƒ

      • CeeJayKay says:

        NOTHING wrong with that!!!! Put lovely fairy lights up (I did that), music on and run in the dark or when you want, cos you can… it’s the THE BEST!!!! 😍 can’t wait to hear!!!

      • mawil1 says:

        Fairy lights are a good idea! I was thinking that as it will be mine I can run barefoot if I want to! Pjs would be good but a sports bra will still be needed😳 And yes – loud music without headphones. It’s all sounding good. 😊😊😊

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Yay!!! Sounds amazing!!!! Enjoy!!!

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Your place to meditate x

  6. Gareth says:

    Well done for getting out there and doing it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

