Running Mojo

If your running mojo was an animal, what kind of animal would it be?

image

Some one people (the lucky ones) seem to have a mojo like a golden Labrador. Always there for them, reliable, happy, glad to see them, co operates, wags it’s tail and does as its asked. Maybe it needs a bit of training, but will co-operate with training.

image

Maybe your running mojo is more like a mule? Perfectly capable of doing the job and most of the time absolutely fine: but sometimes, and unpredictably and possibly just when you need it most, it just decides that it isn’t playing. Nothing you can do can get it to work for you try as you might with carrots and sticks then just as suddenly it changes its mind again and gets back to work.

image

Maybe your mojo is more like a bear, it likes to sleep over the winter?

For the last few months my mojo and I have been getting along quite well. For the first time Β ever I’ve been managing a bit of consistency, slow running, averaging a mile a day, not wearing myself out. Enjoying my exercise. I thought that my mojo might look like this;

image

But this week something happened. One of the girls at work has entered a marathon and I sponsored her. I was chatting to her about it- she’s 50 next year and we talked about training plans and motivation and I was actually fine. But 24 hours later I found myself thinking about it, about me doing a marathon. For the first time in months I was tempted to buy a running magazine in the supermarket! Thinking about the practicalities – not to worry about a time, do I think that I can stay on my feet and keep going for 6 or 7 hours – yes I do. Do I think that I could do better than that with a good training plan – possibly. Have I googled charity places for the VLM and decided which charity I would like to raise money for? Yes I have. Have I thought about my mojo and what is going on here? er, yes- Β Is it this?

image

 

Is it just envy, ‘keeping up with the joneses’ wishful thinking? Or does this represent the final stages of recovery from my burnout earlier in the year?

‘Normal’ me is probably a bit more like this;

image

For better or for worse as they say in the wedding vows!

But I’ve started to re frame my burnout experience over the weekend. Maybe in my head I was seeing turning 50 as being the end of something (my youth? My productive life?) and so I wanted to do the marathon before I turned 50, to achieve something before it was too late? What would that have said ? I’ve done it, I’m 50, I’m over, nothing left to achieve? If that was what I was thinking, subconsciously, then no wonder I didn’t make it!

If, instead though, I re frame this as a new beginning – start my second half century with a ‘big bang’ – something new and different and a major achievement – Β that’s a way of saying ‘bring it on’ ! 50 but not over, there’s more to come and it can be good and it can be fun!

I’m being a little bit cautious though. I am a bit of a Taz and can get caught up in a whirlwind of enthusiasm that makes me take on more than is good for me – so although I’m pleased to see my ‘normal self’ coming back to life I understand that my former, normal self wasn’t always right😊

Realistically, having done some reading, I think my weekly base needs to be about 15 miles per week for a couple of months before starting a marathon training programme. Β (I’m currently averaging 7). That can be 15 miles of MAF aerobic running, so if I can achieve that, I will allow myself to enter a marathon😳

So what animal would your running mojo be?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, fear, fitness, fun, fundraisisng, habits, heartrate, impulsive decisions, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, marathon, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Stress, time management, training plan, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Running Mojo

  1. So... says:

    Love the reflection Julie! Very interesting way to introspect… can’t think of an animal that I’d be but the first thought that came to mind was- wind. Sometimes free and sometimes still, sometimes a whisper and sometimes in full gusto…
    Love your blog…

  2. Running MOJO animal… I like sweet bunnies, yeah, I can relate to the bunnies. But maybe I’m more like a Mastiff… not so graceful or fast, lol.

    When you’re ready, I say yay! Go for that marathon! Celebrate your 2nd half-century by being better than you were when you were 20!! Or even 30!! I plan to (and it’s coming up)! πŸ˜€

    • mawil1 says:

      i think the bunny mojo was a bit about yes you’re doing it but youre not really serious or bringing any ‘teeth’ or ‘grit’ to it. Now a Mastif – there’s serious determination in that image, solid, immovable and it will hold on with those teeth until the bitter end! Yes that’s definitely a marathon running mojo! As for being better that I was when I was 20 – thats a good way to look at it! I’m definitely older and wiser πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† how long have you got to go until 50?

  3. Love this post! I feel similar about entering an ultra! I also came to a similar conclusion lol. I told myself if I can run 35 miles per week I can consider training for one (that’s ehat seems to be required). This will be so exciting!
    Animal hm … it’s one of those tiny little birds here that hang around on the beach. They appear at sunrise all excited just slogging around at the edge of the sea slowly, no care in the world. If a wave comes they take of and fly away super quick until they found another nice spot of soft sand. They show up every day and enjoy it.

  4. Heather says:

    I reckon a cheetah – short bursts of energy (and motivation) with rests between. πŸ™‚ Great post!

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    My mojo is def a Unicorn! Illusive!!! unique, difficult to capture, changeable, a diva of note is able to vanish without notice in a rainbow *poof* … just like that! πŸ¦„

  6. shazruns says:

    I did my first marathon in my 40th year, because I wanted to accomplish something (like mother of two, rebuilding life twice etc was nothing) the training plan I followed then said as long as I could run 3 miles then I could train for 16 weeks and complete a marathon …and I did!
    My mojo is a chameleon, ever changing its out fit to suit it’s mood and sometimes the ******* disappears totally! He also has big eyes and a curly tail, and is a he because HE is so awkward !

  7. shazruns says:

    Ps Love this post x

  8. Julie, I just love this blog! I’d say I’m the lab. Or a timex — I just keep on tickin’. πŸ™‚

    I set my sights smaller for my 50th: a half. And then, of course, decided on a half in every state — and that really is what keeps me going. When it comes to goals, I can be something of a pitbull.

    Part of me wants to try a marathon, just to know what’s on the other side of 13.1. So many first timers HATE the training. And then somehow get hooked.

    Part of me says you have trouble staying uninjured in half training — double the distance? I really don’t know.

    Part of me says I really really really don’t want to run for 6-7 hours. If you could do it like an ultra, where you stop for food say every 6 miles . . .

    I don’t know. I’ve said a few times maybe for my 60th. Luckily that’s a bit over 5 years away.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you!😊 Staying injury free is really important. I’ve injured my back a couple of times in the past – when I was trying to increase my mileage – but staying slow and low seems to have helped. I suspect that creeping up the miles is best- not easy to do for a marathon. ! Anyway who says you can’t stop for food in a marathon? You’d just have to carry it with you😊😊 or have someone strategically placed en route!

  9. Pingback: Mojo vs. Muse vs. Motivation - SlowRunnerGirl

  10. oscardiamond says:

    Is it too late to enter a mojo? Or three? Painted Lady butterflies have the best endurance, flying to us from North Africa. Wood nymphs/dryads are quite nifty on their feet if you startle them (I do). I think I’ll plump for a centaur!

    • mawil1 says:

      Three mojo’s!!! I like the painted lady – it appears to be so delicate but has that incredible endurance! The centaur, half man half horse, I’m sure that’s a really good image for a running mojo, is it as capricious as cee jay’s unicorn?

Leave a Reply

