The quiet blogger.

Yes.

I have been a bit of a quiet blogger this week.

This time last week everything was looking great. I’d got a couple of midweek runs in and woke up on Friday knowing that work had been cancelled. Yes you heard me right, cancelled! My Friday operating list was cancelled, well in advance for clinical audit day, then On Thursday afternoon – far too late to arrange an operating list, someone cancelled the audit!!! I didn’t  need to be in work until 11am. 😆

So 7am Friday morning found me toasty and warm in bed, with a cup of tea contemplating a run. I thought that I would catch up with blogs whilst drinking my tea and wrote a lovely post about statistics. It just needed Friday’s run in it to complete it. Except – oops – I spent 2 hours doing bloggy things and not running. No time left for a run. And none all weekend. So I didn’t post my blog.

I drove to work reflecting on the fact that I probably like to write, even if it is just this banal kind of chatter, more than I like running. Maybe I should just take he bull by the horns and write something ‘proper’.

Anyhow I didn’t run all weekend. I’m really spinning this birthday thing out and I had friends around for a bit of party time.

Monday morning I finally made it. I got up early and, on impulse, went to Eddisford bridge for a run along the river.

imageimageimage

It was a bit so-so on the running front, probably due to the weekend of excess😳

Wednesday was a bit better.

But no run Friday /Saturday

Call it a recovery week, but recovering from life not running!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, blogging, fitness, fun, low intensity, middle aged women, Motivation, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The quiet blogger.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Nothing wrong with a recovery week… sometimes it’s not only good for the body but for to soul too x

  2. oscardiamond says:

    Possibly you are only running as a hook to hang the blog on. Like mine yours is not purely a running blog. You pose all sorts of questions in all sorts of areas and now you’ve uttered the heresy that you might prefer writing to running. I’m gonna leap in with specific advice (nice use of the vernacular). Run occasionally when you feel like it because it’s mindful and helps to keep you fit. Ease off the high standards and lofty goals. Use your Garmin for time and distance not speed. Take more lovely pictures.Do more writing – a running unrelated blog, a short story, start a novel, write poetry, start a magazine at work, buy the writing mags for inspiration, look at the online web sites for budding writers. And don’t forget to run for pleasure.

    • mawil1 says:

      😱 shockingly prescient advice! Sort of the direction I’m travelling in already, almost signed up for a writers workshop this summer. I have been too scared to take the plunge. But fears are there for us to overcome and grow from…….

      • oscardiamond says:

        I did a 10 week creative writing course, 2 hours per week last year and initially I had all sorts of anxieties and misgivings.My school days weren’t wonderful and it’s sobering how immediate past worries from childhood can suddenly become in the present. I think tutors on these kinds of courses are aware how self conscious and vulnerable grown adults can feel in this context. On my course no-one was pushed to do anything that was outside their comfort zone and there was a great deal of fellow understanding among the participants. There were quiet introverts as well as people used to addressing groups and it all worked just fine. I tend to be in the former group. I’ll probably sign up for Part 2 of the course after Christmas with a different tutor. We will be able to bring along and read out stuff we are writing currently or have written in the past or do the weekly set exercises as an alternative. Fellow students are invariably positive and no-one gets shot down. It’s not The Apprentice! Have a go if you can make the time. Dip your toe into another world. It’s fun.

  3. So... says:

    Very interesting Julie. I now have three blogs on three different interests! Running, yoga and one that dabbles in (dare I call it) creative writing?? I like to think of it as notebooks in blogosphere…

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, I agree that a blog is like a notebook – not so easy to flick through the pages though! I have been thinking about keeping a writers notebook. Don’t know if I want to share it though!!! Prefer to keep the rough work hidden and reveal only the polished product!

  4. shazruns says:

    Lovely photos, keeping blogging them please, along with whatever writing you desire. Rest is good whatever the reason.

Leave a Reply

