A satisfactory running week.

Monday morning was an unpromising start to the running week. I’ve often driven through Great Mitton and seen a pathway by the river that looks tempting, so I thought I’d explore it.

image

Looking towards the Aspinall Arms at Great Mitton. A nice pub to go for a meal or drink in the garden on a sunny day.

image

Mmm. I don’t think the owners want me running on their property!

However, it wasn’t to be so I went home and just ran around the village instead. Well, I say ran, my heart rate didn’t want to stay in MAF range so I ended up just walking for most of it. I have had a bit of a chesty cough so maybe it was affecting me. However I did see this, for the rainbow chasers!

img_0532

A double bow!

Its been a good week because I have managed 4 runs rather than my usual 2 or 3. The 2 midweek runs were shorter, because I was short on time so I decided to go but do less rather than not at all, but in fact it worked out well in the end because my weekly mileage was 11.4 rather than the usual 7.

I’m enjoying my running more at the moment, running to heart rate is so much easier and more enjoyable than trying to run at a certain pace.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, fun, habits, heartrate, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, maps, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Stress, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A satisfactory running week.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    GO JULES! FAB photos! wow!!!

  2. Good job getting it done, especially with the remnants of a chesty cold!! I can’t see your rainbow picture? What am I missing?

    • mawil1 says:

      Just checked and the rainbow wasn’t there! I must have swept past with my finger and deleted it ( I usually blog on my phone) I’ve added it now! re the cough- I didn’t really think about it until my HR was elevated! Maybe that’s why I was a bit unmotivated last w/e. Better now though😊😊

  3. Can’t see the rainbow either. Sounds like a great consistent week to me!

  4. Gareth says:

    Woooo rainbows! Plus private signs are advisory. All property is theft so if anyone happens to say anything you’re free to citizens arrest them with force ….. or run away

    • mawil1 says:

      I’ll wear my red beret next time I go! The one with the little gold star on it 😊 I think I have one somewhere from my student days…….πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

  5. On my easy runs and most long runs I don’t watch my pace. So there’s usually only a couple of runs a week that I have pace goals for.

    I say whatever gets you out there & moving works! And something, no matter how short, is always better than nothing.

  6. Hope that cough is long gone and great to hear you’re enjoying your running πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

