No big deal.

IMG_0548.PNGThis shows my miles run over the last year.  As you can see I average about a mile per day, and other stats show that I get out about every 3days. It’s no big deal. Many people run more,  longer, faster more often,  but I like this chart because it shows consistency. Since June all my bars are about the same size, whereas this time last year there were months with a lot of miles and months with virtually none. I’m pleased to be developing a gentle running habit in stead of flash in the pan starts and stops. Over the next six months I’d like to see those bars gradually get a bit taller. No grand schemes, no big ambition, simply slow and steady, fit and healthy😊

To some people this may sound like a very low expectation or underachieving, but for me it is a new way of life. In the past I’ve always worked to a formula of set goal, put everything into achieving said goal, (and neglect other stuff) achieve, rest(or collapse) get bored, look for new goal.

Now I’m trying to live more of a smooth ride and less of a roller coaster, trying to enjoy the scenery rather than gripping onto the safety rail! That’s not to say that I can’t have the odd day of fun at the fair😁 But generally it’s about making more of the smaller moments☺️

Have you ever tried to change the pace of your life?

Do you think that it’s possible to bring a sustainable change, or can a leopard never change its spots?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to No big deal.

  1. Hi Julie, I think it’s commendable that you are running at all. Many people wouldn’t even think about starting, let alone do it. I think what you’ve found is that you simply enjoy running and the benefits it gives, so it’s natural that you would fall into a regular pattern. Where it will get interesting is if you decide to enter a race and then up your mileage. Then you may find the numbers start to oscillate again. But, I reckon you’ve currently found the perfect balance. 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      I’d love to enter a race, or at least complete a marathon, but having tried and failed last yr I realised now that when the training plans say that you must be running regularly 3x per week for however many weeks – that’s what they actually mean! Since I took up running lots of people I know have taken it up and some of them are really good at it! So I think that there is a big genetic element to it too☺️

  2. I truly think that consistency is the key to most things. And I believe that people can change, at any age — you just have to be willing to do so.

  3. 50in50marathonquest says:

    very commendable and nice approach with the right attitude…if that works for you and keeps you moving and healthy then you are way ahead, no matter your ultimate goal.

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    Consistency means HAPPY in my book! 😘 keep up the love!

  5. Consistency is key! I remember your struggles last year, and I think you are doing so great!!

  6. Fantastic improvement. I remember you mentioning that you want to work on consistency. You made it 😊

    • mawil1 says:

      lol! I feel like it’s just the beginning. I’d like to see a whole year like that! However when I ran on the treadmill my garmin doesn’t measure the distance so miles may look like they are taking a dip over winter, though frequency may go up😊

Leave a Reply

