From grotty to grotto!

 

Since we we moved house, much of our well loved possessions have remained in boxes in the garage. We are renting, temporarily so I have had a bit of reluctance to unpack everything. All the posters reflect our landlords past hobbies!

Our new location is lovely, and suits us in so many ways, but the sad reality is that it’s not so great for an old lady jogger in the winter. Narrow roads, no footpaths, no street lighting. Not very safe after dark,  I worry about getting splatted by a car. The clocks go back tonight so it will be to and from work in the dark, how will I run?

In my running grotto of course!

I have bought a treadmill and tried to create a cozy space in the garage for it😊 Cee Jay told me that she had fairy lights in her garage and I thought yeah!!!  What a great idea! So it’s music, disco lights and sparkle😊😊  I’m off to B&M tomorrow where I hear that they have lots of LED lights at bargain prices😊

image

The treadmill arrived today and I had to do some assembly. I didn’t spend a lot, and it shows! The console is made of that silver coloured plastic so reminiscent of  the 1980’s and the speakers are really tinny. The running strip is a lot smaller than the treadmills you get in the gym  and I fell off (sideways) in the first 5 minutes.  I decided maybe best to stick to a fast walk until I got used to it.

Anyhow, I plugged my phone in, got the disco lights on and managed an hour at my MAF heart rate. And I had the BEST time ever!!!😆😆😆 singing along and doing dance-y walks. It did occur to me that if I can sing along at MAF it might be set too low.

It was an experience that I’ m looking forwards to repeating 😆!!

 

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, fun, habits, heartrate, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, Stress, time management, treadmill, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to From grotty to grotto!

  1. shazruns says:

    A whole hour? I am impressed!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    OMG! LOVE IT!!!! How I miss Roger!!!! God I loved my Roger and I so used to zone out and dance and bop! Enjoy Jules!!! You deserve it!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Would you replace roger? I think for me it’s going to solve a lot of problems over winter. Also it’s easier to stick to the MAF. I still want to run outdoors on days off, but I’m hoping to increase my fitness over winter😊 I’m so excited😆😆

      • CeeJayKay says:

        I would replace him tomorrow! Hubby is enjoying garage space now so there’d be a fight over that first 😂 luckily the gym I use in winter is bijoux and just down the road when I need it and their treadmill is 100x better than anything I could ever afford… SO for now it’s the gym for me…

      • mawil1 says:

        Yes, it’s definitely not as good as the ones at the gym! But this is cheaper and more convenient for me here. I looked into local gyms but none were good for me. No pool, limited opening hours.😔

  3. What a fabulous idea!! Enjoy!!

  4. Way to go Julie, that looks perfect.

  5. 50in50marathonquest says:

    awesome disco lights and singing on the mill…you need to stop by the music post and share a tune or two 🙂 great job, an hour on the mill is definitely a grind and about the limit for me!

    • mawil1 says:

      My taste in music might be a bit individual! I put the phone on ‘shuffle’ and ended up singing along to ‘jailhouse rock’ which I would normally skip but yesterday it seemed just right! Other tunes that went down well, senses working overtime XTC, and respect by Eurasia black dog led zeppelin! Although I like new music driving the car etc I like my old faves for running. I have you to thank for one republic though, I love ‘love runs out’

      • 50in50marathonquest says:

        Those are awesome picks Julie, nothing wrong with some individualism!! My playlist spans Megadeth to Adele, Michael Buble to Metallica! Love Runs Out is a great running playlist song…not that we would ever admit, but it’s a fun karaoke tune too 🙂

      • mawil1 says:

        😆 Yes I’ve triedsinging along to love runs out in the car – it stretches the vocal range! Fortunately no one can hear😆😆

      • 50in50marathonquest says:

        haha, awesome!!

  6. Amazing! I love it. Singing is a sure sign you are aerobic 😊 Now I want my own grotto.

    • mawil1 says:

      You seem to be managing just fine without one! You already have the discipline to run over an hour a day on the beach😊 I love running outdoors but it’s nice to have an alternative for winter. When I run outdoors, I actually enjoy the sounds and silence of the countryside, I never wear headphones now. The grotto thing is a completely different experience and more fun than the gym😆😆 The lights are pretty cheap- £18 for the disco lights the treadmill less so. I think that ‘having fun’ and ‘feeling energised’ after your run are part of being aerobic too!☺️😃

      • I wouldn’t run in the dark on narrow country roads … I don’t even like running there in the daylight. I love how we both seem to have found the right thing for our circumstances! And yes – the fun and being energised – definitely comes from taking it easy! Wish I had known sooner that I don’t need pain to gain 😉

      • mawil1 says:

        I agree. And when I see people pushing themselves you can’t really tell them that you think they are doing it wrong but maybe throw out a few hints so that if they want to look for themselves they know which direction to go😊

  7. myquietroar says:

    I love this! Everyone should have a grotto with fairy lights!

  8. Wow, a good time on a treadmill for ONE HOUR? That’s awesome. I only resort to mine when the weather is really crappy, and I have to watch tv while running and I still find it BORING.

Leave a Reply

